We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food, great prices”
Review of Darwell's Cafe

Darwell's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Come in for some Great Food and Music. Remember BYOB on all Adult Beverages.
Clinton, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great prices”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had heard about Darwell's on Diners, Drive-In's and Dives... Being that I'm from the area and visit frequently I made a mental note to drop by. The first time we tried to go by the place was absouletly packet. I mean like parking 1/2 mile away packed, so we decided to eat elsewhere. We went back a couple of days later (a tuesday night) and were able to get right in. As everyone else has stated the food is absolutely amazing. We had the Darwell's trio which included Etouffe, Shrimp Creole and Gumbo. It was off the charts good. I pretty much changed my mind about which was my favorite after each bite they were all GREAT.....

The atmosphere is eclectic, we sat outside and enjoyed a rare cool July evening. It is not elegant but is a lot of fun. There was a duo playing live music on the patio. They were enthusiastic and having fun, but they were a tad short in the talent department.

Overall the food at Darwell's is amazing, I would go back again and again.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TennBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    74
    23
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Humboldt, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You've got to eat here , that's the best way I know how to say it .”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We love the food, the atmosphere , and the people . It's just a memorable experience every time we eat there . It's the food that totally sets Darwell's apart from all the rest . It's absolutely great . Everything we have ever ordered has been off the charts . It's our favorite place in the Gulf area .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KWA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Full of energy!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of meeting Darwell himself. He exudes energy. His food is amazing his prices a little high for the area but not for the quality. Must try everything on the menu. The restaurant is a little hard to find but it makes it all that more fun once you get there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stantitt720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, MS
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Must Go”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Some of the best food I have ever eaten-- they take extreme pride in what they do- went for lunch on a Saturday - they had live music then-- I'm sure the patio is great fun

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScribFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, MS
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food, casual fun atmosphere”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our late lunch at Darwells. We asked staff for recommendation - and we got the sampler of gumbo, creole and étouffée plus the 2 crabcake entree with shrimp yum yum pasta. All were great - but favorites were yum yum shrimp pasta and the crab cakes - best crab cakes ever!!! Casual casual atmosphere. We will return!!! Lots of variety on menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcbnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darwell's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Darwell's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing