We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be sure you're hungry before going in the door!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Darwell's Cafe

Darwell's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come in for some Great Food and Music. Remember BYOB on all Adult Beverages.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
279 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Be sure you're hungry before going in the door!”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

As my address shows, I live in Long Beach about two miles from Darwell's. Darwell's is truly a laid back, casual place to eat. The food is outstanding! No matter what you order - BBQ, seafood, or one of the daily specials - you won't be disappointed and you will not leave hungry. The servings are enormous.

The staff is so attentive, and Poppa D, circulates around making sure everyone is enjoying their food and drink. Great place to eat and see friends.

If you are from out of town you may need to ask a local for directions as it's on a side street behind a bank and next to a fire station.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoastalDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    68
    21
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food, atmosphere and music”
Reviewed April 13, 2011

I live in long beach right across the train tracks from Darwells. Whenever I need a place to go hang out that is the first place that comes to mind. The food there is just indescribable and the music is top notch for a hole in the wall joint. Darwell knows how to treat his customers right and the business that he gets shows it. The atmosphere at his restaurant is really laid back with lights all around and a bring your own beer or liquor policy. That really saves money compared to bar prices. If I could give him s 100 star rating I would.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank treyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We travel back & forth to Auburn, Al 3-4 times a year & always stop at Darwell's! Can't say enough about this place! Everything is great & the atmosphere is so fun! Staff is soooo nice! Wish it was closer but definitely the bright spot in a long trip!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TexEx76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Featured on Food Channel and I know why”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We asked a local where to try some cajun type food and they said Guy Fieri featured it on the Food Channel's Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. We had great Southern food. They don't make it really spicy but encouraged you to add the fire sauses to your liking. The service was a good as anywhere I've been. They had a guitarist singing solo music from Merle Hagard which was excellent. It is not fancy by anymeans but you feel real comfortable. I might suspect the owner is a left over form the Hippy days of the Vietnam era but that is a good thing.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dkccmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best tasting fun in town!”
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Colorful and artistically decorated, Darwells is a well disguised four star restaurant. The offerings are magnificent, only matched by the friendly, entertaining atmosphere. And live music nightly!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Darwell's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing