We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambiance and top quality food”
Review of The Loft

The Loft
Ranked #6 of 73 Restaurants in Laurel
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Steaks, seafood and pasta. All made to order WE ARE OPEN TUESDAY THROUGH SATURDAY FROM 5PM UNTIL 9PM THIS SITE IS NOT ALLOWING HOURS TO BE CORRECTED PROPERLY This site will not update hours correctly Tyes through Saturday 5pm until close
Laurel, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance and top quality food”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you are visiting Laurel, Mississippi and want a top quality dining experience, the Loft on Central Avenue is the place to go! Wonderfully warm, Old World ambiance and AAA quality steaks, seafood and pasta combined with affordable prices make the Loft a truly pleasing experience. The Loft is a "must do" for anyones bucket list!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    28
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poplarville, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I drove an hour in the pouring rain to have a nice dinner with family. A family member had made a reservation due to the fact that we would have a large group. Our waiter, Andrew, was excellent. He took our drink orders then returned to take our food order. Several of our group ordered baked potatoes to which we were immediately informed, they were out of but Andrew, recommended a potato casserole. He finished taking our orders then out brought our drinks and appetizers. He then had to come back out to inform us that they were also out of the potato casserole (remember, reservations were made so they knew they were expecting a group of at least 8). So those who ordered baked potato, then potato casserole now had the choice of french fries, sweet potato fries or asparagus. Nothing goes with a delicious steak and shrimp like frozen french fries. My sister and I ordered the Fried Chicken Alfredo...big mistake...the chicken tasted like it had been breaded with no seasoning, very bland...it was cold and the pasta tasted like it had been sitting under a warming light for a while. We asked to speak with the owner and he came to our table with an attitude. He informed us that they had been "slammed" since 5:00 (in the restaurant business I would consider that a good thing, especially in this economy). As my sister continued to explain he asked what would we like for him to do (sarcastically) wipe out the whole ticket. We told him, no, we had eaten and fully expected to pay for our meal. He told us he would give us a discount on our tickets. We said that would be great, thanks! When the waiter brought our tickets back to us, the owner did not discount our tickets, he gave us a gift card back to his restaurant. We gave ours to our niece. We never intend to go back to that place. The only good thing I can say is that our waiter Andrew was absolutely the best! So we learned, $75.00 later, that The Loft is overrated. I don't mind paying for good food but am truly disappointed in this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Darlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurel2011, Owner at The Loft, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We apologize for any negative experience. I can say that it must have been late on a friday night that this guest arrived in order for us to be out of baked potato and casserole... We never run out of both unless it is after 830 or later. We rush the food out of the kitchen immediately so the comment regarding heat lamp is not accurate. I am not saying we don't make mistakes ever but cold food is not one of them. We regret any negative experience once again but we have been in business 4 years and rarely if ever get anyone ask to speak to a manager/owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place in town bar none!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Loft is the best place to eat dinner in town. I am from Dallas,Tx an eat at many 5 star places. The Loft is as good if not better than any of those places . I will be here every time I come to town from now on.

Thank you for a wondful time

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rwalters1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
310 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Even Mrs Jones was allowed in!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

In Laurel for two nights en route to Canada from Texas. December. With Mrs Jones, our dog. So - where to eat? Our hosts at the Wisteria B&B gave us walking directions to The Loft and we headed out. The Loft has a patio - closed when we got there - so, of course, we asked whether it would be possible to dine outside with Mrs Jones. John, the owner, was so very helpful - unlocking the courtyard and setting us up. Andrew, our waiter - a young guy with five kids and three dogs? - was extremely helpful also. They set up a table for us, complete with candles. Brought menus, water for Mrs Jones and - a large serving of steak scraps for her also. The food was great, service friendly, ambience wonderful. The fact that John and Andrew were willing to go the extra mile to accommodate strangers and their dog just made it such a great experience. We went back the next night as well - a private patio, Christmas music, my lady and our dog - just a great couple of days. Thanks John and Andrew.

If you pass through Laurel - this is the place to eat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger61Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON,TEXAS
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“PROS AND CONS”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Pros: Joe and Summer were attentive and pleasant
Nice interior and great patio. Good crab cakes.
Cons: Shrimp bread was like a small pizza with a few shrimp and covered with melted cheese - ok but no big deal.
Ribeye sandwich was tasty but made with thick/stale hard to eat french bread- I had to eat open face as it was too large.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank katmelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurel2011, Owner at The Loft, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We apologize that our ribeye sandwich was too large we have never had a complaint about too much steak but I understand that if your bread was tough...french bread can easily get to that point at times but we would have gladly replaced it if you had notified management. We apologize for any negative experience you had and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Loft also viewed

 

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing