We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Southwest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Southwest
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Jackson
St. Clair, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2008

Rooms are in disrepair.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room Quality
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortinnJackson, Front Desk Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Southwest, responded to this review, December 8, 2008
Sorry to know that the guest was upset, we have one of the highest guest satisfaction in our area, we pride our self in keeping the rooms very clean and we recently have renovated all the rooms and the hotel,we also get same guests stay with us all the time, we also get lots of families with children as well.
We also exceed Choice Hotel standard for guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    48
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
33
41
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

I found this hotel to be economical and a good stopover while traveling. I paid $67 (incld taxes) for a night at the on-line comfort inn site for the hotel. This was cheaper than expedia or booking via phone to comfort inn hotels. The hotel is across the street from a Wal Mart, Waffle House and IHOP. The free breakfast at the hotel however is quite good and you shouldn't need to go elsewhere. There is a pool on-site which appeared to be quite clean, there is no fitness area, nor is there room to go running on the local streets. The area is safe, but it is far from downtown. In my opinion there isn't much to see in Jackson anyways. All in all nice staff, easy to find hotel and a good stopover for passing thru Jackson.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Stimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benbrook, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

I wasn't completely won over, but it was a fairly clean place to stay on the way to and from Florida especially for the price. We didn't use the pool-too late the 1st time, too crowded the 2nd. It was a good sized pool, however. It was nice to be able to grab breakfast before a day on the road. We did not receive the rollaways we had on our reservations either time, but they were quickly taken off of our bill. Luckily, our youngest was able to share with his brothers. IHOP, Wendy's and WalMart are all very close.

  • Liked — Location-close to the highway
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momo3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razorbackland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2008

Great hotel, outside the downtown area of Jackson. We did NOT feel in danger at anytime, as is the case for most everywhere that we read about around Jackson.
We stopped here on the way to Orange Beach, AL. Great place to stop!
It was clean and nice. They served a very nice continental breakfast.
Location, right off of the interstate, next to a Wal-Mart Supercenter and IHOP.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fayettenam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, LA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2008

Superior stay. Even though just one night, this site met my C4 requirements to a tee -- Cleanliness, comfort, convenience and cost. Our room was well outfitted with amenities including microwave and fridge. The site was located close to the highway and within walking distance of a IHOP and Walmart. The staff was polite and helpful. The room was really one of the cleanest (for its price point with AARP discount) that I have ever stayed in. We were also fortunate that the evenng's other clientele were quiet and we were able to get a good night's rest. (understandably, no hotel has complete control over its guests noise level especially with kids.)
There was a sufficient breakfast bar in the mornng and a free paper. What more can you ask for.
I suppose if I had any criticism, it would be that the wireless computer service was slow, but it was not a priority for me at this time.
I would surely use this location again.

  • Liked — Good value and clean
  • Disliked — Internet was slow
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kander007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2008

I booked this hotel based on the other Tripadvisor reviews, and I gotta say Tripadvisor did me right once again. This place is totally decent: clean hotel, very pleasant staff, comfortable beds, reasonable location. All rooms have a microwave and fridge which were clean and worked fine. Rooms have outdoor entrances but it feels very safe here.

You can actually walk to Walmart, IHOP and Wendy's from here -- it's not exactly pedestrian friendly but it's only a few hundred yards. So, that's super convenient. And, a trip to Walmart at rush hour is a great way to experience the local color. Let alone IHOP at midnight.

Breakfast was average -- biscuits and gravy, sausage patties, and peeled hardboiled eggs warmed in a crockpot all creeped me out but other people seemed to enjoy them. Waffles, pastries, bagels, and cream cheese were all ok. I would have liked some peanut butter and yogurt but there was nice fresh fruit.

Fitness center was two treadmills and a stationary bike. They all worked ok, but the room stank of cigarette smoke, air freshener, and moldy carpet. This was the only real disappointment of the hotel.

The hotel is very close by the highway. You can sort of hear a dull roar from the traffic in the background but the HVAC unit drowned it out at night.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tokoloshgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

This was the highest rated Jackson motel in our price range, so we got a reservation. It's located right next to a Wal-Mart and a IHOP. (The Waffle House was abandoned, so we chose IHOP - it was pretty good for an IHOP.)

The folks at the motel were friendly and polite. Everything was very clean, and the room was great. Breakfast was kind of crammed in the small lobby, but everything was fresh and well stocked and kept clean. The room had a big king bed that slept well, a pullout couch, fridge, and microwave, all for only $50.99! Incredible deal. The maids even flirted with my daughter as we left.

The pool seemed to be well maintained, but we didn't have time to go. I've stayed in supposed "3 star" motels for twice as much that couldn't compare to this Comfort Inn.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank jonceramic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
9.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jackson
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
10.4 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Southwest

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Southwest
Address: 2800 Greenway Dr, Jackson, MS 39204-3305 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
#5 Business Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Southwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites Southwest is conveniently located at the intersection of Interstate 20 and Highway 18, less than four miles from Jackson State University. This Jackson hotel is minutes from the Mississippi Museum of Art, Mississippi Veterans Memorial Stadium sport and event facility, the Jackson Zoological Park and Millsaps College. The Jackson-Evers International Airport is just 12 miles away. Additional points of interest include the Mississippi Agriculture & Forestry Museum, the Ross Barnett Reservoir and the Mississippi State Capitol building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Jackson
Jackson Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing