We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent little boutique hotel in downtown Jackson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Capitol Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Capitol Inn
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Alligator, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent little boutique hotel in downtown Jackson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for a little overnight romance on our wedding anniversary. Sadly, we didn't have the time to get too far away from home, so this was our compromise. We looked at the Hilton, the Marriott, and the King Edward, and assorted B&B's in the area, but finally, settled on the Old Capitol Inn, since we both like boutique and historic hotels.
Well, it wasn't such a compromise after all!

We were thoroughly impressed with the service, and with our room. We had a balcony suite with a very large two person jacuzzi, and a nice sized walk-in shower with body jets. On arrival, we found we had roses and a chilled bottle of wine in the room, and the staff bent over backwards to make our stay special.
The room itself is quite large, with a very comfortable king bed, and remote ceiling fans that move the air quite nicely. the furnishings are very nice, and they have Aveeda toiletries.
Prepare to be awakened at 7:30 or so if you are on the front of the building, however. They are right on State Street, which is one of the busiest thoroughfares in the city.
Breakfast was MUCH better than, as another reviewer put it "Holiday Inn" food. The cheese grits are fluffy, light and delicious, and the coffee is perfect. We recommend breakfasting early to get the table on the patio under the ceiling fan, right next to the koi pond in the courtyard. (The courtyard is gorgeous, and was voted "Best Place To Hold A Wedding Reception" in a local magazine.)
The only thing that keeps us from giving it a full 5 stars is the fact that, well, it's a four star hotel. There is no bellman, no dinner restaurant, and no room service. No knock on the hotel itself, it is what it is. Other than that, the Old Capitol Inn is just superb. We will be coming back again for additional romantic rendezvous!

FYI, our room was most definitely NOT handicapped accessible.

Room Tip: Get a balcony Jacuzzi suite. We recommend "Beauvoir"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GritsAndGucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    46
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
68
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Thought I was making a quick one day trip to Jackson for work and was quire unhappy when we ended up having to stay...until we checked in to the Old Capitol Inn. We were greeted with a smile and true southern hospitality by Burkie at the front desk. He is a tremendous asset to the Inn and I truly hope the owners appreciate his hard work. Actually, all staff members I came in contact with was friendly and pleasant. I stayed in the Star By Faith room, which was beautiful and very comfortable. I felt like I was at home and not "stuck in a hotel". The breakfast was absolutely delicious!!! By far the best breakfast I've ever had at any hotel I've ever stayed!! They should NOT change a thing!!!! The gardens were beautiful and very relaxing. The Inn is filled with every ounce of southern charm you could want. As a Mississippi girl I was proud to see the traditions of the south and the hospitality we are known for represented so well at the Old Capitol Inn.

Room Tip: The few rooms I was able to see were all beautiful. I can't imagine there would be an unpleasan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fsuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

First, this is not a Marriott or Hilton with tons of amenities. This is a small, boutique hotel in the heart of Jackson. The rooms are really small with very little storage, but they're unique and unlike any hotel room you've seen. The staff here is incredible. Everyone is incredibly friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
639 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Had not had the pleasure to stay here before prior to this week. Each room is unique and has many pleasurable things on property to enjoy. For example it is an all suite boutique hotel with much space and beautiful surroundings. The gardens outside of the sunroom is impeccably manicured and planned, complete with a koi pond and unique flora. In addition there is a very nice roof garden to peruse the downtown area from above. Also a delicious breakfast buffet in the morning and appetizers with beverages are included in the afternoon. It easily accessible to all in the downtown Jackson and surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Each room is different, but of the ones I saw all are exquisitely decorated. We were on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
228 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were doing a weeklong driving trip through Mississippi and this was our first stop. Like the town of Jackson itself, this hotel was a slight disappointment. If I had it do over again, I wouldn't spend a night in Jackson, there's not enough to do, you can cover everything in a half day. This hotel, seemingly built for business travelers, is okay but not great. The rooms are clean and nice size - ours had a suite style layout - but it's very rough around the edges. It has seen better days. The breakfast is a really cheap Holiday Inn Express type spread; we were really in the mood for a good hot home cooked breakfast and when we saw theirs we got in the car and drove around town looking for something else. The place was nice enough that I would stay again but I know what I was getting into. The one staff member we saw was as nice as could be, helpful with information and a good smile!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at Old Capitol Inn by chance on a road trip through the south. Although the immediate area had few exciting restaurants or places to visit in the evening, the hotel is a real find. Nice decor with upper and lower patios, friendly staff, large rooms and decent breakfast. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentlyinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The setting of this hotel on a major road through a busy downtown is not that inviting. However, the staff at the hotel are very kind and personable. The location is handy for walking to the downtown and an easy drive anywhere else in Jackson. The breakfast was very good. The room we had was spacious and well equipped. The parking lot is convenient but small. One night there was a large affair in the ball room. As we were leaving the parking area to go to dinner, a guard came up and placed a no parking cone in our place to reservee it for our return. Sure enough when we did return a couple of hours later the guard guided us to that very spot even though the rest of the lot was full. I call that southern hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JERRY690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
7.1 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 46 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#4 of 46 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Jackson Coliseum
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 46 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Capitol Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Capitol Inn

Property: Old Capitol Inn
Address: 226 N State St, Jackson, MS 39201-1906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Capitol Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Capitol Inn is Jackson, MS only designer boutique hotel. With 24 suites, each representing different people, places and things in Mississippi, the Inn is ideally situated downtown, minutes from the area's museums, University's, shopping, reataurants and nightclubs and State Government buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Old Capitol Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Capitol Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing