We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Old Capitol Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Capitol Inn
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2007

My son and I stayed for two nights at Old Capitol Inn. We stayed during the Christmas Season and the hotel was decorated beautifully. Our room was nice and very clean. We had a great view of the garden. Each morning a full breakfast was served. In the evening we had a house wine and cheese. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. Overall the stay was very relaxing and convenient for our business in the downtown area. I could recommend this hotel wihout issue.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gogonurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Old Capitol Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 197 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2007

I stayed one night at The Old Capitol Inn. My son and I were visiting Millsaps college. We arrived after a less than pleasanrt trip and the front desk person was very efficient. She pointed out the light apps and wine-very nice!! Our room was actually a room with an entrance area. There was a loveseat and tabel/lamp. Our room had two beds and a small balcony. The bathroom was small, but had everything you needed. Small complaint--the shower was weak-real weak. I loved the way the room was decorated. The beds were comfortable and were layered with soft sheets and the comforter was even soft and comfy!! I am a pill about room decor, cleanliness and soft sheets. The inn was excellent on all three counts. The room overlooked the tranquility garden and the pool in the distance. The pool/garden area was so nicely done and at night had white lights. We briefly checked out the rooftop garden and hot tub--very nice. Breakfast the next morning was good--loved the creamy grits and crispy bacon. My son plans on visiting Millsaps again in the fall, and this is where we'll stay. Also lots of gated parking if you are driving. Overall loved it and hope to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skippy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2007

Yet another great stay! We are in town here but stayed there on our honeymoon and went back recently. We loved it as always. The breakfast is nice, the beds are great, then only thing I would like to see is more updated magazines in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mere17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

I stayed here on business and found the hotel to be very well run by nice people, immaculately clean, my room (really a suite) was HUGE and beautifully appointed, and there were many nice touches, such as shoe shine if you leave your shoes outside your door in the evening.

It was not particularly well set up for business as there was no computer to check email or print boarding passes, and the print quality of the faxes I received was not great, but these were minor issues. The front desk staff did their very best to deal with our many lengthy faxes. We did have lunch and breakfast in the restaurant and found it to be very good. We also ate at the "Que Sera" restaurant about two miles up the street and had a very good casual, cajun meal. I recommend it.

This is really like a large bed and breakfast and would be very nice for couples or families. Even with the slight hassles we had with the faxes etc., I do plan to return for additional business trips I will be taking to downtown Jackson as it looked like by far the nicest place around.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mgskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2006

Wonderful hotel, great location, excellent service. A must stay when in Jackson.

Stayed: October 2004
5  Thank twofoxxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nashville, TN
16
Reviewed April 15, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Old Capitol Inn on out Honeymoon. We had the best experience we have ever had at any hotel. The Inn was immaculate. The setting was beautiful and romantic. And the staff was wonderful and accoommodating. I would recomend the Old Capitol Inn to anyone. We LOVED it!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Anders T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
7.1 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 39 in Jackson
924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#4 of 39 in Jackson
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Jackson Downtown-Coliseum
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 39 in Jackson
209 reviews
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Jackson The District at Eastover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Capitol Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Capitol Inn

Address: 226 N State St, Jackson, MS 39201-1906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: $151 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Capitol Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Capitol Inn is Jackson, MS only designer boutique hotel. With 24 suites, each representing different people, places and things in Mississippi, the Inn is ideally situated downtown, minutes from the area's museums, University's, shopping, reataurants and nightclubs and State Government buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Old Capitol Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Capitol Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing