We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO VISIT if you're a fan of fiction”
Review of Eudora Welty House

Eudora Welty House
Ranked #8 of 54 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The restored gardens of this deceased Mississippi writer.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DO VISIT if you're a fan of fiction”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I squeezed this in on a business trip and so glad I did. I write fiction, so of course it was extra special for me to see Eudora's workspace, manuscripts, books everywhere, etc. As historic houses go this one is extremely well conserved, probably because she willed a lot of her personal effects to the state historical agency, which runs it. A delightful docent (who told me she does a one-woman Flannery O'Connor show - would have liked to have seen that!) gave me a lightning tour, just right for the short time I had.

I would highly recommend this stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank zenpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    15
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
340 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“For literary or history buffs”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

There are three types of individuals who will appreciate the house tour. 1) Those who have a passing interest in literature like myself. It is easy to gain from the tour an appreciation for the lack of emphasis on material possessions by Welty, her creativity, and the interest in the gardens highlights the descriptiveness of nature that shows up in some of her works 2) Those who are fanatics about Eudora Welty and 3) Those who are interested in the intersection of her life with the Civil Rights Movement. It is a little hard for me to evaluate my tour because I was part of a group tour that was led by a professor who personally knew Welty and was her biographer. I know that the other group that did not have her biographer, but was also pleased with their tour. . As with every place that I have visited in Jackson, the staff shows nothing but the utmost hospitality providing you act with class and dignity as well. The home itself is in an upper middle class neighborhood and sits directly across from Belhaven University. It should be easy to find parking as there are several spots right out in front of the home that are reserved for the Welty home. The price is very reasonable at 5 dollars per person. It should take you about an hour to an hour and a half to tour through the house, gardens, gift shop. A good value!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Clemente71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
901 reviews
468 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Even if you are not a Welty fan, go see it!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is one of the best writer-museum houses. As you are guided around by one of the docents (ours was Caroline, who knew Ms. Welty by sight, and was most knowledgeable) it is as if Ms. Welty had just stepped out, and loaned you the key, so that you could tour the house. The place is full of books, on shelves, but also on almost every horizontal surface! A variety of Ms. Welty's books in print and on CD are available for purchase in the house where you buy your tickets and view the introductory video before starting the tour. There is also a gorgeous garden, full of camellias blooming in the springtime.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“for southern fiction lovers”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

nice home but the real story is her vibrant, rich life. go find your own take on it. there's a lot of construction going on in the area so make sure you have a good map to get there. docents are very knowledgeable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank louise j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent history/literary lesson!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Being a literary history buff, the Welty House offered insight to this great author that I had not been privilege to before that which I can now share with my students! Very informative docent!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Arifog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eudora Welty House also viewed

 

Been to Eudora Welty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing