We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for southern fiction lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eudora Welty House

Eudora Welty House
Ranked #8 of 52 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The restored gardens of this deceased Mississippi writer.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“for southern fiction lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

nice home but the real story is her vibrant, rich life. go find your own take on it. there's a lot of construction going on in the area so make sure you have a good map to get there. docents are very knowledgeable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank louise j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent history/literary lesson!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Being a literary history buff, the Welty House offered insight to this great author that I had not been privilege to before that which I can now share with my students! Very informative docent!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Arifog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Very interesting to see Eudora's home.The guide was very knowledgeable and brought Eudora to life.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 19Traveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We dropped by, you must have been out visiting a neighbor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Well done house tour; informative and well maintained house and property -you know a lot more about her and her life when you leave. The house next door is the visitor center so Eudora's can remain as if she has just gone for a walk. The staff was excellent, they gather around us as we left trying to ensure we knew everything their was to know about the town they obviously love.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank michael o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“So glad this site was preserved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Well--run view of Eudora Welty's perfectly preserved house. Books she was reading still in piled where she left them in 2001...Boxes of her favorite pralines by her easy chair. House next door has been purchased to serve as a museum and viewing center for a documentary on her life and work so the house can be preserved just as she left it. I'm so glad the U.S. is following Britain's lead in preserving the homes of famous writers. You must phone for reservations. Tours by appointment only. We happened to arrive as her niece was showing Welty's new agents around the house. Eudora donated the house to the state, but her niece generously donated all of its contents, which really make the experience. Don't miss the documentary. It is very well done.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Remi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eudora Welty House also viewed

 

Been to Eudora Welty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing