We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet & near Capitol - Free Parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jackson Marriott
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Jackson
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Quiet & near Capitol - Free Parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

As a PLATINUM level of Marriott's frequent guest program, my rooms are usually always perfect. My preferences (away from elevator & soda/ice machines & no feathers) are always respected - EXCEPT HERE.

I had to change rooms, as they put me next to the soda/ice machine and across from the elevators. To top it off, my bed was complete with feather pillows and a down comforter.

The Concierge Lounge was comfortable. The breakfasts were good, and the evening snacks wee not quite enough to make a meal out of.

Staff was friendly, but front desk was disorganized.

Room Tip: INSIST on something that is not under the Concierge Lounge. Otherwise, you hear them setting up for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiredWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    75
    45
    24
    21
See reviews for
47
30
15
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We travel to Jackson regularly and always stay at this property. The parking is so convenient and the breakfast buffet is always good. The bar offers some food as well. It is downtown, so there are no restaurants within walking distance in the evening, but it is easy in and out. Walking around downtown in the daytime is great, the capital is very close. The Catholic Cathedral is on the same block too. The staff could not be more accommodating and the views are pretty cool!

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high, it is fun to see the city below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Talk about southern hospitality! This was our 1st trip to Jackson, and we weren't sure what to expect. From the moment we drove up, we were treated like old friends. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The property itself was spotlessly clean. The beds & pillows were some of the most comfortable we've ever encountered. We chose to include breakfast in our package also. The food was delicious and restaurant staff was wonderful and accommodating. Hotel is within walking distance to the governor's mansion, old capitol, Capitol St., Mayflower Café, and other historic sights and places of interest. There was also PLENTY of hot water and great water pressure, which is frequently an issue at some hotels. It was very quiet, offered a great view, and just an all around pleasant experience. My kids loves it because the front desk staff presented them with their own Angry Birds pillowcases upon arrival. Would HIGHLY recommend and definitely plan to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff alone makes this hotel a destination but you will be disappointed with the rooms that show age tv's were old with limited channels bathrooms were dirty and shower pressure was poor. If it was not for the staff there would be no reason to stay there

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank akleinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was impressed with the service and support from the staff. The front desk was attentive and pleasant, the manager was on site to greet me, and the bell staff were helpful and courteous. I loved the downtown location and the ability to walk to my business meetings, restaurants, and entertainment. The Capitol and the Governor's Mansion are only blocks away and offer great tours. The people in Jackson are so friendly. I loved my time there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you need a downtown location, this hotel is great. The rooms are well appointed in typical Marriott fashion. However, the customer service cannot be beat from the friendly doormen who volunteered with a smile to take our luggage to our room ahead of us, to the friendly receptionist who got us a good room to the polite and pleasant man who delivered our breakfast to the room. Even when I called to ask for an extended checkout, I couldn't have been greeted more pleasantly and agreeably. I enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: I think the higher floors give a nicer view over the city and are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50sbelle50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooreville, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you must be downtown near the State Capitol building and other state offices or if you are attending a convention, like I was. It has been here for many years, but it has been kept up very well, except for the convention rooms. They are a bit dated and the sound systems are also getting old.
The hotel restaurant, like most in hotels, is not a bargain, but the food is good. Even though the price is fair, considering, they will get another $12 per day for parking.
There are a number of newer, nicer, hotels in the area and in the North Jackson area. The Hilton, for one, and the North Jackson area has great shopping and a great selection of restaurants. Stay a few miles North of downtown and you will be closer to the action, except for the government, that is.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
7.2 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 46 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Capitol Inn
Old Capitol Inn
#4 of 46 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Jackson Coliseum
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 46 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Marriott

Property: Jackson Marriott
Address: 200 E Amite St, Jackson, MS 39201-2404
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jackson Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Jackson Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Marriott Hotel Jackson
Marriott Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing