We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is great hotel needs update” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jackson Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jackson Marriott
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Jackson
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Staff is great hotel needs update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff alone makes this hotel a destination but you will be disappointed with the rooms that show age tv's were old with limited channels bathrooms were dirty and shower pressure was poor. If it was not for the staff there would be no reason to stay there

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank akleinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    81
    48
    25
    22
See reviews for
49
35
16
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was impressed with the service and support from the staff. The front desk was attentive and pleasant, the manager was on site to greet me, and the bell staff were helpful and courteous. I loved the downtown location and the ability to walk to my business meetings, restaurants, and entertainment. The Capitol and the Governor's Mansion are only blocks away and offer great tours. The people in Jackson are so friendly. I loved my time there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you need a downtown location, this hotel is great. The rooms are well appointed in typical Marriott fashion. However, the customer service cannot be beat from the friendly doormen who volunteered with a smile to take our luggage to our room ahead of us, to the friendly receptionist who got us a good room to the polite and pleasant man who delivered our breakfast to the room. Even when I called to ask for an extended checkout, I couldn't have been greeted more pleasantly and agreeably. I enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: I think the higher floors give a nicer view over the city and are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50sbelle50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooreville, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you must be downtown near the State Capitol building and other state offices or if you are attending a convention, like I was. It has been here for many years, but it has been kept up very well, except for the convention rooms. They are a bit dated and the sound systems are also getting old.
The hotel restaurant, like most in hotels, is not a bargain, but the food is good. Even though the price is fair, considering, they will get another $12 per day for parking.
There are a number of newer, nicer, hotels in the area and in the North Jackson area. The Hilton, for one, and the North Jackson area has great shopping and a great selection of restaurants. Stay a few miles North of downtown and you will be closer to the action, except for the government, that is.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I am a Marriott fan and was very pleased with arrival and check-in at this property. Parking for unloading is limited, but this is understandable given the downtown location. Staff were welcoming and knowledgeable about the area and restaurants. The lobby is well-appointed with a restaurant that boasts a decent variety on the menu and tasty food. Breakfast was crowded but the staff handled it with ease. There are several elevators so wait time is minimal even on busy mornings. Our room was very clean, as was the bathroom. The furnishings are dark and dated, and the lighting in the room wasn't the best. Our window faced the parking garage which limited natural light. I expected newer room decor from a Marriott , but it seemed that the lobby, gym, and meeting rooms have been updated.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chem_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Rarely does a Marriott property get me questioning my judgement in staying there, but this one did. Starting with the awkward parking and lobby entry, i also could not undrstand the whacky pay go business center and no premium TV. Thankfully they have a nice staff including Regina at front desk and Deandre in concierge. But the property and facilities are below average and definitely not worthy of the premium price. Will likely stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

When Staying In Jackson Ms, I would strongly recommend you consider the Marriott. This property is well kept, easy parking on-site, great staff with everything for the business traveler. Room Service was both prompt and the food was good. Excellent Choice

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daorlando1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
7.2 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#2 of 46 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Capitol Inn
Old Capitol Inn
#4 of 46 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Jackson Coliseum
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 46 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Marriott

Property: Jackson Marriott
Address: 200 E Amite St, Jackson, MS 39201-2404
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jackson Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Jackson Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Marriott Hotel Jackson
Marriott Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing