We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised ...”

Nagoya Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #114 of 386 Restaurants in Jackson
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Crystal Springs, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised ...”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I ordered off the hibachi lunch menu ... scallops with stir fry veggies. It was quite good for $10.95. Veggies were cooked just right ... mushrooms, onions, broccoli and carrots. Scallops were perfect ... seared but not over cooked. The rice was so-so, but I'm not big on rice. The restaurant was busy with just a short wait. Server was friendly. Order time was short ... maybe 10 minutes. They have good sweet tea ... not to sweet, not to strong. If the portions had been larger it would have rated a 5.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DionneNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
“best sushi in mississippi”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Normally my average spending for 2 people in a sushi restaurant is 60 dollars. But in Nagoya, only 40 dollars, and the portion is huge. Really a surprise. The staffs are very nice. The sushi are so good, beat all restaurant in Mississippi. And it is clean.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jianrenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dirty!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Just left staff laying in booth sushi chefs did not even say hello. I was the only one in there and it took 20 minutes to get order. Leaned against sushi bar and check out picture of my shirt. Will not be going back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeeBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sushi!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great little quiet Japanese restaurant. They have the best sushi especially the Nagoya roll! They no longer cook hibachi in front of you, but you can still order it from the kitchen. Slightly pricey but well worth it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service, Great Menu.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nagoya Japanese Restaurant is surprisingly good.

Our first visit happened by chance. But soon it became one of our favorite sites.
They offer very friendly, personal attention to the customer.
Sushi selection is very good, well presented, clean and timely.
They offer several soups and noodle dishes.
Their tempura is also excellent.

All dishes we have tried in perhaps 8 visits have been consistently very good.

I would recommend Nagoya Japanese Restaurant any day.

There is no Hibachi currently, but all their menu is very good.

It is a very good choice for couples, family, friend, business or solo.

Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mauriliogm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nagoya Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nagoya Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing