We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Southern Cooking”

Two Sister's Kitchen
Ranked #13 of 380 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Southern Cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just like my Grandmother used to cook. Fried chicken is second to none and the hamburger steak smothered in tomato gravy melts in your mouth. All of the veggies are great especially the creamed corn. Be sure and try a cup of their vegetable soup as well. Personal favorite dessert is the apple crisp. Sunday after church can be crowded and at $15 a person it's not cheap, but if you want some great Southern Comfort Food, it's without a doubt the best in town in my opinion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    57
    22
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dined Here after Watching An Episode of Bizarre Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Never had soul food before and was anxious to try everything. Andrew Zimmern said this was the best fried chicken he ever tasted, and he was right. Also tried grits, collard greens, sweet potatoes, corn muffin, mashed potatoes, black eyed peas and apple crisp. Didn't care for the black eyed peas, but everything else was wonderful. Lovely day, so we sat outside. Only $12.50 a person for the buffet which includes all you can eat, sweet tea and choice of dessert. Only open for lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SewFine802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“May be the best dining experience we have ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were visiting from California and my wife, son, and I had lunch here. Everything was perfect. While waiting for a table we sat on the wood rocking chairs on the porch. You felt like your Aunt from the south was inside making the perfect southern meal. The food was over the top wonderful. It was exactly how we imagined a great southern meal when we were planning our trip. The ambience and service make you feel right at home.

We will return to Jackson again just to eat at this wonderful restaurant. Thanks for the great meal and experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeC291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy and busy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband is a Jackson native and has been raving about this restaurant's bread pudding for years. We went stayed in Jackson for a night on our way elsewhere and we went for the Sunday buffet. Good Lord a mercy, it was crowded. The buffet is set up right inside the front door. The hostess was all "you want seating upstairs or downstairs?" We went upstairs after filling our plates with fried chicken, fried okra, rice and gravy, creamed corn, and cornbread muffins and rolls. I swear to goodness, that is the absolute best creamed corn I have ever eaten. I could have just eaten that and left a happy camper.

But as others have mentioned I was most curious about this bread pudding my hubby has raved on for years. Had I realized we could have gotten multiple helpings of dessert, I may have just eaten cream corn and desserts :) Definitely go. At $15/person (including drink).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sexcupid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Love to come here for lunch! Great selection of southern food. The best fried chicken and yeast rolls I've ever had!! Be prepared to hunt for a parking spot, but worth it all. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottatstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Sister's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Two Sister's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing