We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food and enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Char Restaurant

Char Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Char Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 380 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: E Northside Dr.
Description: Char restaurant offers modern Southern cuisine with distinct spirit and charm. Char offers great lunch specials during the week and a jazz brunch on Sunday. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, veal and lamb, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. At Char we give you excellent service and food in a warm and entertaining atmosphere. Char is locally owned by the same folks that brought you Amerigo Italian Restaurant, Sombra Mexican Kitchen, Anjou Restaurant and Saltine Oyster Bar. Located in Highland Village, Char offers reservations and private dining rooms for special events. If you prefer to host your event at your venue of choice, we'll bring fine dining to you! Char offers delivery and full-service catering options for groups of any size. Our Sales Manager will work with you to create a customized menu with flawless execution of your special day.
Forest, Ms
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food and enjoyable experience”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I visited on a Friday night and there was a short wait, even with reservations. Food was delicious and waitstaff was knowledgeable and cheerful. Would definately go again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    93
    24
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
“Seriously?”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was a big fan of Char back in the Latham/Roberts days. It is nowhere near the
same place now. One of my co-workers and I ordered lunch to go today. I understand
it's harder to judge from this perspective, BUT we both ordered the (Fri.) lunch special
of Turkey and dressing.There was a couple of pieces of way undercooked turkey with
a very thin salty gravy! Really? Since when is gravy called dressing? My two sides of
garlic mashed potatoes and creamed spinach were meciocre at best. All this for a mere
$12. I think the $6 plate lunch from Kroger is better. Sorry Char you've seen the last of
my hard earned money!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JR39211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Michigan
Level Contributor
824 reviews
450 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner and great service”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Ate here while in the Jackson area for work and the service was excellent. There were plenty of waitstaff and they paid close attention to detail. I had a cup of gumbo as an appetizer and it was flavorful and good. the heirloom tomato and ahi tuna salad was also good although the ahi tuna was a thin piece whan I was expecting a thicker piece of tuna instead of a relatively flat but larger sized piece of tuna. Anyhow, i would recommend returning to Char.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You won't get burned !”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Traveled here on business and some locals mentioned CHAR was the place to go. They were correct . Started with the sautéed crab claws. The cocktail sauce was flavored with a touch of bourbon. Didn't expect that. Excellent ! I followed with the scallops over grits. Also excellent. Great service and food for the price.

Helpful?
1 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson MS
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Popular & Upscale”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've dined at this restaurant ever since it opened a few years ago (and before that in its prior incarnation). A couple of well respected and successful local restrantures opened this establishment about 5 or 6 years ago and it has been a hit ever since (although they no longer own the place). The strong point of this restaurant & bar is its service. Service is impecable. The food is great, although I've found the kitchen inconsistent. Twice in 6 years I've had to send tuna back that was overcooked to the point of being dry. But those are exceptions to the rule of great food at moderate to high prices. I typically take customers and business associates to this place, instead of paying out of my own personal money. The bar, while on the small size is outstanding. They have a pianist most happy hours. The drinks are strong and service is perfect. Finally, I love the whole vibe of this place. Dark wood, with red accents and a "Chicago style steakhouse kind of feel. If you've visiting Jackson on business, don't miss this place. Also great for any special occasion. They also have a couple of private roooms. One would accomodate about 12 to 14 and the other approximately 18 to 20. At lunch, I always get the gumbo, french bread and a house salad. Best iced tea in Jackson!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WarmBeachLover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Char Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Char Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing