We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A lot of emotions !!!

What a great visit even if some furniture aren't the original ones. The University send a guide to... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
bluesjlp
,
France
Important Historic Place

A terrible thing happened here, but fortunately Tougaloo College has turned into an important... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
natechertack
,
Dallas, Texas
Read all 71 reviews
  
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
51
15
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
15
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his life call ahead historical landmark the civil rights movement private tour period furnishings minnie driveway watson blood assassination college ghost appointment chills house movie
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

What a great visit even if some furniture aren't the original ones. The University send a guide to tell you the life of the Evers Family and their drama. You can see the bullet impacts in the kitchen and can imagine the terror they lived.

Thank bluesjlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A terrible thing happened here, but fortunately Tougaloo College has turned into an important learning opportunity and a meaningful historical landmark. Glad I was able to see the house and learn about the history. A very moving experience.

Thank natechertack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

The tour was very enlightening and Ms. Minnie gave an outstanding overview of the events leading up to the Assassination of Medgar Evers. Enjoyed it very much. Was visiting with 45 ladies from Atlanta.

Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

We did not call ahead to make an appointment due to our restricted time frame but still went by the house. There is a few photos with descriptions under the carport that describe the events of Medgar Evers assassination arms a historical marker out front. Im really glad we stopped. It is easy to find with gps. The outside of the home looks well maintained. Hopefully, in the future, we'll be able to make an appointment to see the inside.

1  Thank AmiK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2018

The folks at Tougaloo College have done a heroic job of keeping this site alive. You must call the University in advance to arrange the tour. Our docent was extremely knowledgeable and passionate--it was a gift to spend time with her. We were very moved and saddened by this memorial to the loss of Medgar Evers, a truly great man.

3  Thank Kato F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2018

Our tour of the Medgar Evers Home was a moving and somber reminder of the heroism and sacrifices of the civil rights leaders of our recent past. I hope that this amazing site becomes part of our National Park System so that its story can be shared with an even larger audience.

9  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018

I am always in awe when I stand at a spot where history took place. Like the Gettysburg and Vicksburg battlefields, I felt that way at Medgar Evers' home. I first learned of him from the movie Ghosts of Mississippi. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. He spoke for a short time, then you can walk through the house. Amazing to hear and read about all that Medgar Evers endured, the sacrifices he and his family made, like: no front door, for safety reasons, beds were lower than the height of the window sills, for protection from gunshots, the safety drills for the children in case someone starts shooting. Very sobering.

3  Thank jddoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2018

I learned a great deal about the life of Medgar Evers during this tour. The tour guide was fantastic. Death threats made to Medgar Evers changed the way he and his family went about their daily lives but not their resolve to fight segregation, Jim Crow laws, and for voting rights. He and his family slept with their mattresses on the floor to reduce the likelihood that they could be shot through the windows of their home. The bullet that killed Medgar Evers after going through him traveled through the front window, through an interior wall and then ricocheted off of the refrigerator (see picture of refrigerator). A chilling reminder of racism and our need to confront it. If you want a tour make sure you arrange it by phone in advance. Tours are not available on Sundays.

4  Thank ededed2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2018 via mobile

This was a random visit. We were riding down the street and stopped by and the lady who shows the Home allowed us to come and view the home before other guests came by. I had chills listening to the story. Very informative. My eleven year old had a lot of questions. I would recommend this tour.

2  Thank Terri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2018 via mobile

I have learned so much about Mr. Evers on our trip to Jackson. We visited the Museum of Civil Rights where we first learned about him. Pur tour guide at his house was very knowledgeable of his life, the area and civil rights history.

1  Thank Mandi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews