We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Regency Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Total Dump”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you pitched a tent next to the city trash recylcing plant, you would be a level above this dump.

Checked in and asked for a Junior Suite, they charged me $151.00, sent me to my room on the second floor.

Wow, late 60's decor, carpeting has not been vacumed yet this year, maybe not at all last year either. Closet had three candy wrappers on the floor and the plastic from a paper cup.

Remote control did not have any batteries in it nor did it have a back plate that holds the batteries. TV sets are so old the tubes are missing. Main room the tv screen was green and in the tv room the color was totally out.

Telephone on the table had a broken receiver, no coffee pot, no shampoo or hand soap. Bed sheets were stained. Could not check out and get a refund fast enough.

Room Tip: If you are a sucker enough to stay in this dump, it is nobodies fault but your own. Terrible, Go up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raiyanrab, Manager at Regency Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
John we are sorry you had a bad experience at our hotel. I hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    0
    5
    33
See reviews for
14
4
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Nothing "Grand" about it. Sorry. The new management team badly needs to watch "Hotel Impossible". Odd smell in lobby/hallways. Front desk impersonal/shabby-- under new management, but couldn't repaint the front desk area? If you're going to have a no-guns policy, put that on a real sign, not a piece of paper taped to the door. Seriously? Old, small TV. No clock. No maid service. Ironing board had 2 large holes in the cover. Seriously? They just need to intelligently spend a little money, it could be fine.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MrDudeSir39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raiyanrab, Manager at Regency Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I would like to offer my personal assistance and look forward to getting more details about what we could have done better. Your feedback is valued and will help us improve our service. Feel free to give our management team a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamar, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Where do you start..
Pro's : room and common areas were clean.
Cons: no phone or alarm clock or coffee maker in room.
One of my friends got locked in his room and had to use his cell phone to get out as the electronic door lock was broken on the inside. Banquet hall had two servers and 3 kitchen help for 250 meals. We had to help serve our own meals and one friend had to help make the potatoes and gravy in the kitchen.
They said they changed management 6 months ago.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ss309556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed here this past weekend for a concert that was in town. The interior is pretty nice and the free breakfast not too shabby. They recently came under new ownership and even are renovating some things. I'm sure it will only get better in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jabi7313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Jackson-Fairgrounds
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 39 in Jackson
209 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 39 in Jackson
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Jackson Downtown-Coliseum
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Jackson Coliseum
6.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jackson - East Beasley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Regency Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 400 Greymont Ave, Jackson, MS 39202-3505
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Regency Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Hotel & Conference Center at the Coliseum is a distinctive, Italian theme hotel offering comfortable yet lavis accomdation for the discerning traveler. Featuring 110 rooms and suites and Conference Center with over 20,000 sp.Ft ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Regency Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel And Conference Center
Regency Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing