We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and quality”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was recently renovated. Room was modern, nice and clean, including the bathroom. Room included a microwave oven and a refrigerator. Free Wi-Fi and breakfast. Can't beat the quality for the price. Friendly staff. Located right off the interstate. Would absolutely stay again!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Antoine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn186, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad you had a wonderful time at our hotel. Our main goal is to offer best product with excellent customer service and we appreciate when we achieve that. Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 210 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here for a soccer tournament. Arrived around 8:30 pm only to find that there was no one at the front desk. We rang the bell several times and even called the hotel number with no response. I honestly thought about calling 911 thinking the clerk had possibly died in the office next to the front desk. The clerk showed up about 15 minutes later off of the elevator. She was in the middle of handling relocating a guest from one room to another because of a broken air conditioner. Not a great way to start our 2 night stay.

The room was OK, but it was very small, as was the bathroom. There were hooks over the sofa bed where possibly some artwork was hung, but the wall was vacant except for the hooks. The room did not have linens for the sofa bed, and we had to go back down to the front desk to get some. The lights from the parking lot are so bright that it looks like the sun is out all night long, even with the curtains drawn as tightly as possible. The towels in the bathroom were graying, thin and dingy.

The area is questionable. Although close to the capitol and downtown area, the immediate surroundings are warehouses and salvage yards.

The only bright spot was the night clerk - Juquasia. Poor kid was working three jobs at once, yet managed to be very nice and helpful. The hotel is pathetically understaffed, and with the exception of Juquasia, everyone else who worked there were basically indifferent to the guests.

I would NEVER stay here again, and I have no idea how this particular hotel ended up being the #1 rated tripadvisor hotel in Jackson. I haven't stayed in any others, but if THIS is #1, I would dread staying in #2.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn186, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate your input regarding your stay. We are sorry no one was available at the front desk when you came. The front desk clerk had to assist another guest in need. We are on a very busy street with lots of business surrounding us. It is indeed an older area but business are doing well and many of them like us have renovated their facilities. Most of our guest have rated us high and we do take pride in offering the best in customer service along with very accommodating and enjoyable guest rooms with a much affordable rate. We do believe they are our guest and not customer. We hope your consider this an isolated event and will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Nice clean hotel. Not very large convenient to coliseum. You can walk and avoid traffic trying to exit. Right off interstate. The beds were comfortable and hotel had wi-fi. Not a lot of parking but also not a large hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvbookworm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn186, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Was running late and my wife called to request the upper floor, away from the elevator. The day hostess left a message for the night hostess, and our room was what we had requested. Jaquesia (sp) the night hostess, was super nice and had a great sense of humor. The room was large, clean, and well appointed. It also had a big TV, with a clear picture. A nice little refrigerator, microwave, kitchenette. We had a king bed, and there is a couch with table, too. The shower had lots of hot water with very good pressure. Nice bath towels. The breakfast had a good variety and it was hot. Eggs, sausage, ham, waffles, breads and cereals. Lots of milk and juice.

The parking lot is well lit.

The only thing I could think of that wasn't completely perfect, is the toilet paper is the el cheapo variety, and I really had to think hard to come up with that.

Stay here. You will be pleased.

Room Tip: Any. Nice, quiet hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etexdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn186, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are on cloud nine to learn that you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for recognizing our staff effort. We hope to be of service again soon.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Hotel recently remodeled as other reviews note. Everything looks good- although the repairs look like they were done "fast" so I wonder how long everything will look good. I'd pay close attention to recent reviews to gauge how things are holding up.

Pretty typical accommodations for a Comfort Inn- rooms decent sized, new flat panel TVs, mattresses, etc. Breakfast consisted of cereal, fruit, toast/bagels, waffles, hard boiled eggs, sausage, egg, ham, etc.

Didn't have any issues with dirty bedding as other reviews have noted but did overhear people at breakfast talking about that issue. Went back to our room and looked closer and did see some minor stains on the bedding.

Couple of minor issues with the room- slight smoke smell- may have been from the hallway. Also, deadbolt would not fully latch. Overall, it's what you'd expect for the price point.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Bigthumbz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn186, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank for your recent visit with us. We are glad you liked our accommodation. Now that we have heard from few of our past guest including yourself, we have set up a process with our housekeeping staff for our bedding so our future guest doesn't have to experience the same issue you and some other travelers have. Thank you for pointing it out. Guest comments are helpful and are necessary for improvements. Please gives us opportunity again to be of service again. .


Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Me and my husband went down to the jackson, MS with his brother and his wife and we had an absolute blast. Comfort Inn was a beautiful hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff and the breakfast in the morning was also very good.
Let's talk about cleanliness, it is very very clean hotel from the lobby to the guest room we had 2 room both rooms was very deeply clean, as soon as I went into bathroom I checked bath tub and toilet first thing I check at all the hires I'm staying in, and it was great.
Thank you comfort Inn, jackson, ms staff for making our stay wonderful. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary_mary981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn186, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you liked our accommodation. We are glad we were able to make your stay pleasant. We value your opinion and look forward to your future stay with us.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We picked this location because the previous reviews were so great. Boy was I disappointed. I booked room 207 which had two beds. One of the beds had dirty pillows (with foundation and smudges) which led me to believe the bed was not cleaned by housekeeping. The young lady at the front was extremely helpful and brought new pillowcases. The lid for the commode was also very dirty (with foundation and dirt) also. Finally, the air conditioner froze up using the auto setting with the thermostat. Luckily, I am married to an A/C guy. I had to set the fan on continuous to get it going again and then switched it back to the auto temperature setting. The person I was traveling with had the same issue with the unit in their room. Coincidence? I think not. Overall, it’s an okay hotel but I doubt I would book there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L8dluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn186, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We strive to offer cleaner rooms and the best service to each guest. It is very disappointing to learn that this was not the case with your room. In this regards I have addressed this situation with our cleaning staff so similar situation doesn't happen again. We hope you take this as an isolated matter and would give us another chance and stay with us again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 39 in Jackson
312 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Jackson Downtown-Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson
1.5 mi away
Cabot Lodge Millsaps
Cabot Lodge Millsaps
#11 of 39 in Jackson
194 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#2 of 39 in Jackson
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 614 Monroe St, Jackson, MS 39202-3422 (Formerly Microtel Inn And Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: $89 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is now open after a full renovation under brand name Comfort Inn. We are located at 614 Monroe St, Jackson, MS. We are off of High Street on I-55. Mississippi State Fairground/Coliseum is right across the street from us. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel with interior corridor. Our hotel amenities includes free hot breakfast, high speed wireless internet, fitness center, business center, guest laundry, and an outdoor seasonal pool. All our guestroom includes 42" flat scree TVs with 100+ channels, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, desk with ergonomic chairs. One king room consist of a separate sleeping and a living area with a king bed and sofa bed. It has spacious work area for business travelers to work comfortably. Our 2 queen bedded rooms is the perfect Choice for a family to stay in and enjoy the 42" flat screen TVs with vast selection of channel for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Jackson
Jackson Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing