We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room not worth the rate!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabot Lodge Millsaps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabot Lodge Millsaps
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Jackson
Atlanta, Ga
1 review
“Room not worth the rate!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

I think the rate ($99+) being charged for these rooms is ridiculous for what you get. The rooms do not come with a microwave or fridge. The bathrooms are so small, one person has problems maneuvering in them. There was also visible bathtub/shower mold in my room. I will never stay here again. I checked out after one night and found a better room at a much better rate.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank selinabutts74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    62
    27
    26
    16
See reviews for
50
20
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
luluLouisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

We stayed at the Cabot Lodge because my mom had an appointment at the Medical Center. (Just around the corner)
Our stay was great.
The lobby looked like a lodge when you went in. It was big, inviting and comfortable. The popcorn was popping and it smelled wonderful!
The guy that checked us in was very friendly. He told us about a really neat place to eat.
Our room was very nice and clean, as was the rest of the hotel. The bed was comfortable. The view was really pretty.
Breakfast was really good, bacon, grits, eggs etc. Again, everything was very neat and clean.
The pool was huge, like hotel swimming pools used to be.
We'll stay there again!

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — smoking room (mom's a smoker) smelled like cigs!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luluLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
203 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

This is a grand, old hotel with modern upgrades - flat screen TVs, refrigerator and microwave in the executive rooms. The hotel lobby is magnificent, reminescent of great lodges in our national parks. The staff was polite and helpful. The hotel was full with Hurricane Gustav evacuees - lots of families with children, but it was incredibly quiet and peaceful.

  • Liked — Ambience and service
  • Disliked — Breakfast started too late for those who start work at 7 am. There aren't any restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nuwildcat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

The hotel's web site makes you think that it has been renovated but it most certainly has not. All they did was install flat screen tvs in the rooms. They are cheap flat screen tvs but they are flat screens, nontheless. Otherwise, I would be surprised if the owner had spent any money on that hotel in 15 years. The entire building feels and smells musty. The bed linens actually felt wet to me. The a/c units stopped removing moisture from the air years ago. I wouldn't be surprised if they traced an outbreak of Legionnaires' disease to this hotel.

The desk staff is totally uninterested in what they are doing. The room was not cheap, either. Unless you need to stay there because of the college or the hospital, then stay somewhere else. It's a creepy hotel and it needs lots of work.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank SteveTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jackson hotels

USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

I had business at Millsaps and no car while in Jackson, so I decided to stay at this because of the locations. It is convenient to Millsaps, but that's about it. The room was okay, but the bath was shabby. The staff simply ignored my request to fix the television in the room. After several requests, I gave up. Figured I'd just write here and warn that these folks to give a shake of horse's tail for the guests.

They do provide every imaginable type of donut for breakfast. Better enjoy them because there is no restaurant in the hotel, and the only one that's within easy walking distance is the Wendy's around the corner. Public transportation being what it is in Jackson (non-existent), I would think that once you factor in cab fare, you could stay at a much nicer place like the Old Capitol Inn and just take a cab to Millsaps. If you have a car, you'd be crazy to stay here--unless you like the disinterested attitude of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DogsDontTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

Stayed here because it is really close to the Univ. Medical Center.
Yes--you can walk to the hospital from this hotel. (I had a staff member tell me over the phone that you had to cross a major highway to get to hospital, but all it is a 4 lane road and people who work at the hosptial have to cross all the time for parking)
Room had been updated. Bathroom very small as was the double room we had. Air was not that great and still had slightly damp feeling. The hallways were another story. No updating there yet, and very hot/stuffy. The pool area looked very nice--had to go to basement floor to get there and was kind of isolated down there. Common areas are greatest plus of this hotel. Many comfortable sitting areas with couches, tables TVs. Biggest negative of this hotel is the staff. Very unfriendly, seemed liked they were more concerned with socializing with each other than guest service. Was given incorrect directions when trying to find a drug store. Exception was staffer at the reception--he was very professional and service oriented. We had to leave very early for hospital next morning and could not eat breakfast. They said I could come back and eat if I made it before cut-off time.(didn't 'cause of relative's surgery) Thought they might have offered a take-along something when we were talking at checkout, but didn't. Overall the only reason I would stay here again is location to hospital.

  • Liked — close to Univ. of MS Medical Center
  • Disliked — Staff attitude, small bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank reviewmomsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rogue, LA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2008

We just got home from an amazing stay at the Cabot Lodge. They are going through renovations, but what they have completed was great! We were booked here for a meeting and YES I read the reviews before going. I was a little worried and unsure, but all of my worries went away when I was greeted by the amazing front desk personell.
Customer Service is #1 at the Cabot Lodge. We would return again. In fact, I booked my next vacation before I left to go back home.
Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DalePHD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
5.5 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#4 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Lodge Millsaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Lodge Millsaps

Property: Cabot Lodge Millsaps
Address: 2375 N State St, Jackson, MS 39202-1150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabot Lodge Millsaps 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabot Lodge Millsaps is the perfect headquarters hotel for both business and leisure travelers to Jackson, Mississippi. Our superb services and amenities coupled with Cabot Lodge warmth and hospitality will bring you back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabot Lodge Millsaps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Lodge Millsaps Hotel Jackson
Cabot Hotel Millsaps
Cabot Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing