We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLAUSTROPHOBIC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabot Lodge Millsaps
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Unless you just need proximity to Millsaps College or the nearby hospitals, you'll get more room for your buck elsewhere. This is an o-l-d hotel. The rooms have been reasonably well updated, but...getting door key cards to work is an exercise in frustration, lamps look as if they came from a thrift store, rooms are small, bathrooms are tiny and claustrophobic (there's maybe an inch clearance between the commode when you shut the door). Reception area is spacious/nice. Haven't tried breakfast. Reception on day of check-in was popcorn/drinks. It's nice enough, but as my old granny would say, "There ain't enough room to swing a cat" in the rooms.

Room Tip: Handicapped accessible rooms/bathrooms may be larger, but I don't know that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie072, General Manager at Cabot Lodge Millsaps, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Claustrophobic:

You are correct that we are an older hotel and you commented that we have been reasonably well maintained and we do appreciate your acknowledgement of this. And yes the Bathrooms are very small. However, the size of the rooms are pretty much the standard size of most Branded hotels.

I am sorry that you did not have the opportunity to try our Complimentary Full Breakfast as most of our hotel guests have told us how much they have enjoyed it. Perhaps the next time you have the opportunity to visit Jackson, Mississippi you will allow us another opportunity to serve you and then enjoy all we have to offer.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

Sincerely,

Ronnie Roe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 193 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were allowed to check in early, which was nice. The lobby is very pretty, and has a very cozy feel to it. Our keys didn't work the first go-round, so we had to go back down to the front desk and get new ones that did work. Room was what I expected. The beds were VERY comfortable. I was worried that we would be disturbed because our room was directly across from the elevators, but I was wrong. Very peaceful and quiet. Bathroom was a little small for my liking, but for one or two nights I could deal with it. I actually thought that, compared to other hotels I've been to, the water pressure was actually pretty good, but I may have just gotten lucky. The breakfast was good; I didn't expect to get biscuts and gravy so that was nice. I liked the location for what we were doing: we stayed one night and went to museums/the zoo. It was about 15 minutes away tops from everything. Clean, homey, and considering the price I was very happy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie072, Manager at Cabot Lodge Millsaps, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Amanda;

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Cabot Lodge Millsaps in Jackson, Mississippi. All of us at Cabot Lodge Millsaps are very pleased to know that you were satisfied with your accommodations and services.

Once again I wish to say thank you and we hope that you will have the occasion again in the future to visit Jackson and the Cabot Lodge Millsaps.

Sincerely.

Ronnie Roe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The woman at the front desk was the best thing about this hotel. She was extremely nice and efficient. The star rating for this hotel was *** on every website I looked at. It's ** at best. The bathroom was extremely small. The air conditioner is loud and doesn't cool all that well. It's August in the South! You need the A/C to work well. I'm only staying here because it's very close to where I have to be at 8am tomorrow morning and I don't know Jackson that well.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank luvtotravel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie072, General Manager at Cabot Lodge Millsaps, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are very sorry that your A/C was not working properly. I am not aware that you mentioned this to anyone so that we could have either selected another room for you or perhaps replaced the A/C in the room you were occupying.

We do thank you for recognizing the lady at the Front Desk as being nice and efficient. I am sure that had she known about the A/C that she would have tried to resolve the situation.

Again, thank you for sharing your comments.

Sincerely,

Ronnie Roe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised that the lodge was so cozy and provided a great night's sleep! We arrived late on a Saturday night but the kind and efficient desk clerk was very accommodating in getting me a room on their entrance floor so I wouldn't have to deal with a lot of luggage, carts and elevators. The beds were very comfortable and the room very quiet, even though my room overlooked the swimming pool with a lot of late-night revelers. The best surprise of all was the fabulous included breakfast that featured homemade waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and sausage gravy, fresh cut-up fruit, muffins, bagels, cereal, etc. I loved the lodge feel - something different - and the huge breakfast area/hanging out lounge was full of tables and comfy seating areas with lots of wonderful overstuffed furniture. I will definitely stay here on my next Jackson visit!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank lt1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie072, General Manager at Cabot Lodge Millsaps, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

All of us at Cabot Lodge Millsaps wish to thank you for your nice comments concerning your visit to our Hotel. It is always a pleasure to know what our Hotel Guests think about our facility and services.

We do hope to see you real soon.

Sincerely,

Ronnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Always check the area before you book on Hotwire. Make sure that if you select a 3 star hotel it is located on the outskirts of the city. Hotel is old and holds that old mildew stinch. Clean rooms, nice staff and the best part is a happy hour (4:30-7:30) that includes free alcoholic drinks and popcorn and free breakfast. Shower is built for the vertically challenged. Shower head has low pressure. Location is terrible, at least they have a rent-a-cop in the parking lot. Nothing around this hotel is new, no stores, shops, or eateries, just a old hospital and a college. At least if you choke on a popcorn kernel or bump your head on the shower head you have a ER close by.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewolpik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

When we checked in I have to say the lady was very sweet, asked us what level we would prefer which I thought was nice. We checked in our room. It seemed clean but the toilet didn't flush well and the ac was so so, kind of stayed humid in the room. In the morning the maid service knocked on our door and we said we would be about 20 mins... She knocked again and before we could say we're about to leave she walks in and puts her vacuum in the doorway and starts cleaning the bathroom while we were still getting our things together. That was akward and uncomfortable and on top of that rude. The next night I went to the front desk to ask a question, and she acted like I was a bother, I don't know why I try to be friendly and smile but that didn't work. I wish the lady from the morning was there, she could probably take a few lessons on customer service. But besides that , I would say the price of th hotel and why it probably stays open at that price is because of there breakfast in the morning and reception service in the afternoon. If your not looking for that I would probably recommend another hotel in the same vicinity.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malibu2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We had a wonderful time here. Very clean everywhere the room, the lounge. The service was excellent- Thanks Linda::) The bed was like sleeping in total comfort. Breakfast was great: waffles ( with that tasted great... not the normal watered down stuff), They had syrup, nut, strawberry topping and cool whip, chocolate chips for the waffles. They had bacon, sausage, links, eggs, bagels,muffins, fresh fruit and not just apples,bananas, oranges, they had cantelop and honeydew melon.They had the cold and hot cereals, and biscuits and gravy with meat in it. This stay was so pleasant that I had to take the time to write this comment. OKAY... the bathroom is small very,very small the door has about 2 inches to clear the toilet small... but l didn't have to stay in the bathroom. But l had to be honest and tell everyone... BUT the shower... once l got in there l could have stayed FOREVER... It was so good that l really couldn't believe it. After l got out of the shower l didn't care how small the bathroom was. l really hope you give this place a chance. l was really impressed. They exceeded my expectations. Oh yeah the halls are small too... who cares the room had a great view of the pool. It was to cold to swim but it was clean... very clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUCINDA273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
5.5 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#2 of 39 in Jackson
956 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 39 in Jackson
312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 39 in Jackson
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Jackson Downtown-Coliseum
1.7 mi away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#3 of 39 in Jackson
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Lodge Millsaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Lodge Millsaps

Address: 2375 N State St, Jackson, MS 39202-1150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: $84 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabot Lodge Millsaps 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabot Lodge Millsaps is the perfect headquarters hotel for both business and leisure travelers to Jackson, Mississippi. Our superb services and amenities coupled with Cabot Lodge warmth and hospitality will bring you back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabot Lodge Millsaps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Lodge Millsaps Hotel Jackson
Cabot Hotel Millsaps
Cabot Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing