We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal in a long time”
Review of Petra Cafe & Hookah - CLOSED

Petra Cafe & Hookah
Price range: $5 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Description: Petra Cafe serves authentic Greek, Mediterranean, and Lebanese cuisine. This restaurant is perfect for casual dining or great for groups. Hookah is available.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst meal in a long time”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I there for dinner. We ordered our meal. I order a kabob. I could not eat it. My friends was just as bad. Terrible. Will not return.

Thank airmanracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petracafe, Owner at Petra Cafe & Hookah, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
I am disappointed that you were not able to rave about your meal as the majority of our customers do. We take great pride in preparing all of our meals from the heart with the best cuts of meat, fresh organic ingredients and authentic imported spices. As the owner, I am at the restaurant practically all of the time and ask all guests if they are satisfied with the food. Perhaps we did not ask you this particular time. Had I known about your dissatisfaction, I would have done everything possible to make sure you were satisfied and happy to have chosen Petra Cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I was somewhat skeptical the first time I visited as there were not a whole lot of people there. Since then I have been numerous times as the food is good and the staff is friendly.

1 Thank Scubaboles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Loved the food. Can't wait to go back . Atmosphere good, service good. What more could you want? Hummus was definitely homemade and well seasoned. Hookah was a new fun experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank Patsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It was OK, 3 1/2 stars but you can't give 1/2.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The lamb was very good and so was the chicken and humus. We ordered the Lebanese ice tea, but we got a lemonade drink, no pine nuts. Could have been a mixup. It wasn't bad, but wasn't what we ordered. Also the stuffed grape leaves were stuffed mainly with air, very little filling. I wish they had just said they were out, instead of trying to stretch the contents. I lived in Greece (Crete) for 1 1/2 years, so I got a chance to eat lots of Med food. I had eaten at this location a few times before when it was the same type of food, but a different name. Don't think I'll go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GITANO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Aman's new place”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have known the owner for years since he started his first restaurant in Ridgeland in 2007. The food is authentic Mediterranean and the spice is "just right". The service is spotty at times, but I highly recommend the lunch buffet!

Visited July 2012
Thank cameo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petra Cafe & Hookah also viewed


Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing