We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have the scallops!”
Review of 1908 Provisions

1908 Provisions
Ranked #45 of 384 Restaurants in Jackson
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: North State Street
Description: 1908 Provisions provides a casual and exciting dining experience where guests can enjoy seasonal dishes prepared by Executive Chef Corey Ellison. Nestled in the heart of Jackson's Belhaven neighborhood, 1908 Provisions, is the perfect place to sit, unwind, and enjoy unique cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. At 1908 Provisions, we attend to the luxury and hospitality of our guests. Our casual atmosphere, friendly staff, and delicious cuisine will make for an unforgettable restaurant experience. Our dishes are a unique,upscale twist on traditional Southern classics. Celebrating fresh, local, and seasonal products, our menus change seasonally, sourcing what is available at its best. Join us for Sunday Brunch that is served 11:00 a.m. until 2:00 p.m offering Southern classics like fried chicken and creamed corn, as well as made-to-order omelet and waffle stations. We also offer refreshing drinks such as our specialty Bloody Marys and specialty martinis, designed by our head bartender. Dinner is served from 5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. and includes a wide variety of delicious entrees. Pair it with a refreshing cocktail or wine from our bar, and you have found yourself enjoying one of the best restaurants in Jackson, MS. Don't forget to end your meal with one of the Chef's wonderful deserts! Come and find out what sets 1908 Provision at the Fairview Inn apart from other restaurants in Jackson, MS. Book your table today and check out our menus to see what Chef Ellison is serving up tonight!
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Have the scallops!”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Beautiful place and delicious food. The fried green tomatoes were perfectly fried-- crispy without a touch of grease. The scallops were perfectly cooked and the chef's chicken special was tender with just the right seasoning

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elmwood Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a home away from home”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

It was great to have a first class restaurant right where you are staying. Reservations are a must as the place is very busy - exceptional dining.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank redhatqueenbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The food was amazing and the staff very friendly. It's a beautiful room and perfect for so many setting.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank redhatqueenbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byram, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Close to heaven”
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

My mom treated me to the Sunday brunch at Sophia's for Mother's Day. She has always bragged about how good the food is and I'm so glad I finally got around to dinning there. While they had a special menu for mother's day, the food was great. The gulf shrimp were plump and cooked just right. When dinning at a buffett I never thought the salad choices would cause me problems but they were all beautifully displayed and tasted equally as good. I had an omelet which was expertly cooked. But my favorites were the tomato casserole and veggie quiche. The selections were numerous and the service was on point. I can't wait to dine at Sophia's again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingMomma73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Service - Great Food!”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed at the Fairview Inn over Easter weekend. We dined in Sophia's for Sunday Brunch. Despite being very busy the service was excellent and immediate. Great selection of typical southern foods, with wonderful flavors in the buffet, that was kept full all the time and clean and neat. We loved that none of the foods were stuck to the bottom of the serving pans which is usual for brunches! The owners seated us and checked through the meal with all the diners. We would have liked to have a regular meal during our stay also but the Inn was hosting a wedding on Sat so we were not able to do so. Will eat here again when in Jackson. Highly recommend Sophia's.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nehistory_buffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1908 Provisions also viewed

 

Been to 1908 Provisions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing