We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must when you are in Jackson (or close by)!”

Babalu Tapas & Tacos
Ranked #4 of 380 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Babalu Tacos & Tapas is a lively restaurant that uses fresh and local ingredients to create bold flavors. You will find a variety of authentic gourmet tacos and Spanish-style tapas with a Southern twist. Every item on the menu, down to the blue corn tortilla, is made from scratch daily - our famous guacamole is prepared tableside. Our bar carries the finest tequilas, and all drinks are handcrafted daily using fresh squeezed lemons and limes.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A must when you are in Jackson (or close by)!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

A group of us visited this place and got in quickly even on a busy night. Everything we had was great. Tamales were very good. We were there for taco special night and had several appetizers including guac and calamari. Service was quick and the servers were very nice. Tea and water glasses were always full. Do not miss this place when in town!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pclonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    117
    36
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great tacos!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Neat place with great food. Missed out on the guacamole. Im sure it is good as it was very popular. The black pea hummus was fantastic along with the veggie tacos.

Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
176 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place was hopping and packed. I was solo so I was able to get into the bar area fast. The food was great and add a nicer version of mexian food than what most in MS are used to.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MStravel2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Food, so fresh”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

First trip to Jackson, used Trip Advisor for suggestions on local food and this location was perfect. I tried several of the tacos and they were great. I would recommend: CARNE LA VACA, CARNE EL CERDO, POLLO, ATÚN. They are small enough that you can sample several. The creamed corn was also very good. I also recommend the patio if it isn't too hot out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ferrell_cat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mediocre food”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This restaurant is touted by the young college and law students in the area but for seasoned diners it leaves much to be desired. Food servings are small and very pricey. I ordered fish tacos of the day which had little to no taste and soft, whole grain taco tasted grainy and fell apart. The salad was a big wedge of lettuce, a little dressing and what seems like processed chicken. Satay chicken skewers same type of chicken, little flavoring. Restaurant is cold, atmosphere depends on watching a faintly displayed "I Love Lucy" sitcom with no sound on one wall. Went three times, will not go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorisl740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizabethFowler, Guest Relations Manager at Babalu Tapas & Tacos, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We're very sorry we were unable to meet, let alone exceed, your expectations. We hope that in the near future you'll give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babalu Tapas & Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Babalu Tapas & Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing