We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beacon on a hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Jackson
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beacon on a hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in kind of an industrial location, I would not want to be walking around outside after dark. But the hotel itself is modern, spotless, and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
12
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I visit Jackson at least 3-4 times a year and I make it my business to stay at the Sleep In in Downtown Jackson. The rooms are always immaculately clean, as well as the whole facility. The staff is warm and friendly and provides me with the southern hospitality I miss when I'm at home in New York.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimplyKiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way to New Orleans. We were not familiar with the area and booked this online. First of all, it isn't in a great location. It says downtown, but it should say the outskirts of downtown... definitely not downtown! There is a metal fence going around the hotel and you have to use your room key to even get into the hotel. We heard sirens 2 or 3 times in the one night we stayed there. When we walked into our room it smelled like dirty feet or gym shoes... NOT GOOD! Also, the place didn't appear to be that clean for only being 2 years old. Your could see smears and finger prints on the walls. The only thing that saved this hotel is the common area seemed cleaner and breakfast was provided the next morning. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband, son and I just returned home from a 4 day stay at Sleep Inn in Jackson and were pleasantly surprised to find one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at. It is clean, modern and decorated beautifully. The morning breakfast was very good with many hot and cold choices. But the best part of this stay had to be the staff at this hotel. I felt like we were leaving family when we checked out. You will not meet a nicer bunch of people anywhere. And we spent our days exploring the city and found the people to be very friendly and gracious. Southern hospitality is alive and well in Jackson, MS. They are revitalizing the city and it shows! Good job Jackson and thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 878Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My first experience at this Sleep Inn was back in 2011 and when I am in Jackson this is my only choice. The staff is welcoming, accommodating and they go out of there way to make sure the property is well maintained. The breakfast offers a great selection, although I wish they would offer fresh fruit of some kind. Don't worry about the location, you will be safe and you'll be glad you stayed.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floor facing building front offers great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJS110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The reviewers are right. The hotel is very nice indeed. The lady at the reception was very friendly, helpful and so cheerful.
The hotel is bright and clean and well looked after. The rooms are large and very comfortable.
We had problems with the room phone and they immediately sent someone to check and then help us move to another room.
It is true that it is not the prettiest part of town but I appreciate their effort to revitalize the downtown. You have to start somewhere..
I felt perfectly safe there. I 'd stay there again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sockschaussettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here on Sept 19 on way to TX. After reading reviews, I decided to give it a try. The neighborhood is not the best, road to it in very bad condition and a lot of old shut up buildings. Hotel itself is quite nice and parking lot is big and fenced in. Check in was quick and easy, room was very nice, beds comfortable and the $80 rate wasn't bad. Breakfast was pretty good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertru44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
0.5 mi away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#5 of 46 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Old Capitol Inn
Old Capitol Inn
#4 of 46 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 46 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 46 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown
Address: 209 S Gallatin St, Jackson, MS 39203-3504
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Jackson
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing