We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice historic hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice historic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This Hilton Garden Inn was previously known as the King Edward.Hotel. The checkin staff is pleasant attentive. The breakfast was good. The hotel is in central downtown Jackson. I rooms were nice and clean. I was there for a meeing/conference. The conference facilities were average at best. However, if you are looking for a nice room, this was a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1DallasCowboyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
We truly appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would be honored if you would stay with us on future Jackson, MS visits. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    267
    119
    50
    39
See reviews for
206
155
57
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Original room was still dirty...beer bottles, dirty glasses and beds unmade. Service in bar and restaurant was terrible. I don't normally complain but having these on sight were the reason for picking this hotel. One waiter/bartender on staff - never got waited on. It was not the employees fault - the hotel was simply understaffed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip. Reading your comments, it appears that we fell short of your expectations and for that, we sincerely apologize. We are accustomed to receiving very positive feedback from our guests and are disheartened that you did not experience the level of excellence you deserve. Please be assured that your concerns will be shared with our management team so that corrective measures are taken where feasible.

We do hope that you can give us another opportunity to regain your confidence in our hotel if your travels bring you to our area again.

Yours sincerely,

larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Good afternoon,my name is Taroji Smith and im an a employee at the king Edward hotel downtown Jackson,first let me start off by saying the teamwork in this building is awesome.one reason is the great leadership of our general manager and my dept heads let me tell you its a joyous place to work and business. I even as a steward in the kitchen often read all the customers reviews and its very important to me. just let me assure all potential visitors this is a excellent hotel to visit,stay,eat, and have a great time at.thanks everyone for your time and inputs have a blessed day.!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarojismith3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored if you would stay with us on future trips to Jackson. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

A nice hotel with a good atmosphere, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice, but it looks as though they may be in need of a remodeling or at least new carpet. A beautiful lobby and good breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored if you would stay with us on future trips to Jackson. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My stay here was error free! Staff was friendly and helpful. My room was very nice, and although it was on the the train station side of the hotel, my room was quiet. Breakfast was good and enjoyed the bar. Great location in downtown. When in Jackson, check it out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
We truly appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would be honored if you would stay with us on future Jackson, MS visits. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

23 May 2013

I want to personally thank the staff of the HIlton Garden Inn, Jackson (MS) Downtown location, for their forebearance and hospitality in allowing myself and a family group to utilize the lobby of their facility for their family legacy portrait session. The Hilton Garden Inn is also the historic King Edward Hotel located here in Jackson, MS. As a native Chicagoan, I would rate this architecturally beautiful facility on a par with the best that this nation has to offer!

On 18 May 2013, I was photographing a family group on a legacy walk at the Mississippi State Capitol and the historic landmarks of Jackson State University. Per the permission of the Hilton Garden Inn, the evening was capped with the concluding family image in its lobby. All 16 members of the family agreed that this was the most appropriate way to end the reunion. Even though myself and the group were not guests at the Hilton Garden Inn, we were received with full amenities, and this after a late evening call 17 May 2013 requesting permission, and accomodating us the evening of 18 May despite three wedding groups which had arrived simultaneously!

With this communique, I would personally and publicly like to acknowledge the assistance and forebearance of:

Larry Hollingsworth, General Manager
Sandra Vu, Guest Reception Manager ( Daytime )
Tenesha Wells, Guest Reception Manager ( Evening )
Lewis Stewart, Assistant Guest Reception Manager ( Evening )

To all travelers whose routes take them through the Jackson metropolitian area, whether for business or recreation, it would be a disadvantage if you did not avail yourselves of the service and atmosphere of the Hilton Garden Inn. Your stay will allow you to absorb both the rich historical legacy of the King Edward Hotel and the current legacy being established under the Hilton Garden Inn and the Hilton name, which has always been synonymous with top tier hospitality worldwide.

On behalf of the Smith family, and myself, thank you for your service!

With The Highest Regards,
Nathaniel Clark, Jr.
LensIIKameraWerks,Inc.
Jackson, MS
601-812-3055
nl_clark@comcast.net

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel35SSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
We truly appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would be honored if you would stay with us on future Jackson, MS visits. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Police was all over hotel when I arrived. Not one person ask to help me with bags or to tell me what was going on when I arrived. Room was hot and had lots of noise. I was on the 7th floor and you could smell pot all in the halls. Reported but no help from staff. To much to spend on a hotel for this to happen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored if you would stay with us on future trips to Jackson. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
7.4 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 42 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#5 of 42 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Old Capitol Inn
Old Capitol Inn
#4 of 42 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Jackson Coliseum
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 42 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Address: 235 W Capitol St, Jackson, MS 39201-2004 (Formerly King Edward Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#4 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're attending an important business meeting, visiting historic sites or enjoying a Mississippi vacation, Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown provides all you need to be your best. Rest comfortably in a bed with adjustable firmness or work efficiently at the large desk while seated in an ergonomic chair. All guest rooms and suites provide high-speed internet access, a refrigerator and microwave, so you will have everything you need to prepare for a successful day. At this Downtown Jackson hotel, we take care of life's details so you can focus on being your best while traveling. Review your meeting agenda or plan a day of sightseeing as you enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast in the King Edward Grille, or savor classic American cuisine and Southern dishes for lunch and dinner. Our 24-hour Business Center and complimentary high-speed internet access enable you to keep in touch with your colleagues and family or take care of work tasks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing