We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 West Capitol Street, Jackson, MS 39201 (Formerly King Edward Hotel)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the King Edward. We like to stay in downtown Jackson. Within the hotel, the lobby has historic charm. The rooms are nicely decorated with very comfortable beds. Additionally, it has a good amount of space and was very clean. The service staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel has a restaurant and a good bar. It is particularly nice to get a nightcap before going up to the room. Self-parking and valet parking are available on the property. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored if you would stay with us on future trips to Jackson. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    247
    99
    48
    32
See reviews for
187
138
56
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel has been beautifully restored and it is a great value for the price. The staff were friendly and courteous. The Jackson downtown area, however, is very empty and doesn't offer much in the way of restaurants or shops at this time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored if you would stay with us on future trips to Jackson. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our wedding night before departing on our honeymoon. When we arrived and checked into our room we realized we were starving so we went downstairs to the resturaunt. The meal was fresh cooked and very reasonably priced. The service from the entire staff was outstanding and the rooms were very modern and clean. The only gripe I have with the place was the the A/C in the room didn't work which led to a pretty sleepless night. Hopefully this problem has been solved since our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebody88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored if you would stay with us on future trips to Jackson. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a historic building on the edges of downtown Jackson, next to the railroad station. The hotel itself is quite busy, but the surrounding area is in transition. Service and personnel were outstanding and the food in the bar was fabulous. Also close to a couple of well-known, outstanding restaurants. But otherwise, not a place where single females will feel comfortable walking to/from other downtown places. Seems to target business & groups. There was easy access to/from local attractions and interstate by car. Once on-going redevelopment of area is completed, this will be again be a prime destination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored if you would stay with us on future trips to Jackson. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was in town for one night and chose this hotel due to its location. While the parking was a challenge and valet was the only option, that was the only negative. The staff was very friendly and efficient and the rooms were nicely renovated. I had dinner in the bar and the food was very good. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctbulldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored if you would stay with us on future trips to Jackson. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotels.com overbooked the Comfort Inn. They upgraded us to this hotel for the night. I was a little leery of the downtown location from my memory but took the discount and some additional credits for my inconvenience. Check in was quick. Room was very clean and beds were comfortable. Did not hear the trains nearby but could feel them every once in awhile. In our room this was not disturbing and we got a good night's sleep before heading towards New Orleans. Location was not that far from I55 to head on our way. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcreamer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored if you would stay with us on future trips to Jackson. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, TN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Decided to stay here at the last minute on a recent trip to Jackson. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The lobby is nice and the rooms were well appointed, clean and up to date. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your business and would be honored if you would stay with us on future trips to Jackson. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
7.4 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 46 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
0.3 mi away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#5 of 46 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Old Capitol Inn
Old Capitol Inn
#4 of 46 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Jackson Coliseum
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 46 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Address: 235 West Capitol Street, Jackson, MS 39201 (Formerly King Edward Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#4 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're attending an important business meeting, visiting historic sites or enjoying a Mississippi vacation, Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown provides all you need to be your best. Rest comfortably in a bed with adjustable firmness or work efficiently at the large desk while seated in an ergonomic chair. All guest rooms and suites provide high-speed internet access, a refrigerator and microwave, so you will have everything you need to prepare for a successful day. At this Downtown Jackson hotel, we take care of life's details so you can focus on being your best while traveling. Review your meeting agenda or plan a day of sightseeing as you enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast in the King Edward Grille, or savor classic American cuisine and Southern dishes for lunch and dinner. Our 24-hour Business Center and complimentary high-speed internet access enable you to keep in touch with your colleagues and family or take care of work tasks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing