We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walker's

Walker's
Ranked #1 of 379 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Great food and service! The chef provides a great presentation and taste. Somewhat tight on the main area of the restaurant but worth the stay.

Helpful?
Thank GTLVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    79
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best meal in town! Rivals New Orleans best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We prefer the main dining room for atmosphere. In the secondary eating area during winter the food cools down during delivery. The veal was tender with a mouth-watering sauce. The lobster claw topping was a nice idea, but a bit strong in flavor. The service was exceptional. Our favorite Jackson restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ditto on all the positive reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Met a large group in town for a business trip based on recommendation from a local. Bottom line is that this place could easily make it anywhere else in the country. Nice casual atmosphere with upscale menu and quality ingredients. The tamale app was excellent; blue cheese wedge salad was well made; and the miso marinated sea bass over black rice was full of flavor. The other entrees around the table looked equally good - not a morsel was left on anyone's plate. The place is small and therefore a little noisy, something to keep in mind if you sit with a larger group at a round table vs one of the booths. It was hard to hear. But the food and general atmosphere didn't detract from the overall experience. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu and ingredients, was prepared to make suggestions, so I also give the wait staff a thumbs up. Overall, put this high on your list if you are in town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PC800er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Local Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Truly an exceptional restaurant, the old saying 'you cannot judge a book by its cover' applies here. Located in an older section of Jackson the menu is varied and interesting. Suggest reservations (restaurant is small with a annex which is also small). Ate there twice, after an outstanding lunch, made reservations for dinner the next night. The fish selection is great and all prepared to perfection - will go back as often as our schedule allows.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
101 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great concept, Jackson gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I lived in Jackson for a year and never heard of this gem. So on my last visit, my friend took me to Walker's and I was really impressed! I loved that it's a diner during the day and a five-star restaurant at night. We got lucky and got a table without a reservation (we were also there really early).
The service was alright, a little hurried toward the end of our dinner as they wanted to seat the people who were waiting.
I loved the calamari we ordered, but the risotto was not the best I've had.
Definitely a good choice for a fancy celebratory meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatmahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walker's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing