We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Fairview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairview Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I'm so glad we chose this hotel in Jackson. It is beautiful. We stayed in the Asian Suite which was a gorgeous large room with a fireplace, huge bathroom with spa tub and large walk-in shower. The hotel staff were all really friendly and helpful. The hotel grounds are gorgeous too. Loved the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAG460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    35
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
128
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Fairview Inn & Suites in Jackson, MS, was the perfect place for our wedding on December 29th last year. The staff was very attentive and offered excellent service. The food and wine was delicious and everyone that attended thought the hotel and grounds were absolutely gorgeous. Our honeymoon suite was the "Asian Suite" and it was beautiful as well! The room was decorated beautifully and the bathroom was huge and even had a vanity with a coffee maker included as well as a gigantic bathtub and a separate shower. We enjoyed every minute of our wedding, our honeymoon stay in the suite, and our brunch the following morning. Thank y'all so much for making this a dream wedding we will cherish for the rest of our lives!

Sincerely,

Bert & Tacy Jones

Room Tip: The Asian Room is the best! We absolutely loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

One night wasn't long enough. What a beautiful place. I was in awe when we arrived. We stayed in the strawberry room. I just loved it. The breakfast in the morning was great. I tried the chefs special veggie omelet with goat cheese and it was awesome! If your in Jackson this is the only place you want to stay at!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLover429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in the Asian Suite, and Fairview offered us a Babymoon package, which included one night in a suite, a preggo massage for me, a swedish massage for him, dinner for two at Sophia's, Breakfast at Sophia's, & chocolate covered strawberries delivered to our room. At the price they offered us, we essentially received our massages free, a great deal. Our room, was fantastic, King sized jacuzzi tub & a very romantic atmosphere. The Fairview feels more like a small hotel than a Bed & Breakfast in its size, and our room was very quiet & private. The maze garden is a gorgeous place for a walk and/or to sit & read or write. The Inn has a guest kitchen stocked with homemade baked goods & bottled water/sodas at no charge, a great touch!! You must check out The Library Lounge. Books dating back to the 1850's line the walls, and this preggo was delighted that 6 different nonalcoholic beverages were offered!Sophia's restaurant was a fantastic candlelit dining experience. On our trip they had a pre-fixe Valentine's menu. Everything we had was scrumptious. Breakfast is NOT TO BE MISSED. The Cinnamon French Toast I had was amazing. Our visit to Fairview's Nomi Spa was also very good. I was a bit nervous while we were waiting as the ladies working were chatting a little too loudly for a quiet, spa atmosphere, but once we got into the treatment room, everything was excellent and my masseuse was very knowledgeable about the dos and donts of a pregnant massage. Don't miss the quirky shops just a short distance away from Fairview Inn in the Fondren district. Many of these places were featured in the movie "The Help." I would highly recommend The Fairview Inn for anyone looking for a quick, romantic getaway that includes great eats & unique touches!

Room Tip: Spring for a suite if this is a romantic trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stargirlcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Last summer, we had such a dreadful experience at the Fairview, and complained so strongly, that they comp'd us the suite. No blackout drapes in one bedroom, so it was like truck headlights shining directly onto the pillows. Filthy bathroom---the tub was so dirty that they had to send someone up to clean it. The AC never cooled down our room. Very cold, rude service---no warm welcome and you are treated like a nuisance at breakfast. Due to a business luncheon in the dining room, guests were asked to leave through a service area after breakfast, which was not pleasant. Definitely a place that is more interested in your money than the comfort of your experience. Looks like they spent too much money in expanding the place, and are cutting corners to meet the expenses. Very disappointed----in face, we were disgusted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catbird777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Fairview Inn. We were both disappointed in our one night stay. I had found the Inn in a Southern Living article and read many positive reviews about the Inn on Trip Advisor. Assuming we would have a great experience, we traveled to Jackson under the assumption we would be spoiled during our stay and not want to leave the cozy Inn. I appreciate the fact that the Inn is not a full service hotel as we have traveled extensively and stayed at many B&Bs, small hotels and Inns. What we typically enjoy about smaller establishments are their attention to details, thoughtful service and open spaces for conversation. We stayed at the Fairview Inn on a Sunday night. I expect that had something to do with the lack of cozy or welcoming atmosphere. The common spaces were closed up and dark as the restaurant was closed and the bar was closed. The front door was locked and we were greeted by a personable innkeeper after ringing the bell several times, however, this was the only time we saw anyone else at the property until our breakfast the next morning. We took advantage of the game room and played pool, but it was not very well kept and the floors were sticky and dirty. Our room was cute, but very dusty. The bathroom was also in need of a proper sweeping and the sink needed a thorough wipe down. The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed the fireplace in our room. Breakfast in the morning was good, but it was a bit of a downer to walk through an empty house and restaurant to get to the breakfast area. All in all, I was plainly underwhelmed and disappointed in our visit – especially after reading all the hype and expecting a cozy and welcoming stay. I have stayed in much nicer small establishments that are more affordable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsC105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Park your car and don't move. Best rooms, best before dinner drinks, best dinner. What more could you want!! You are treated as if you are in someone's home. Bartender in the area before dinner is very accommodating. You feel like you are sitting in a library with a warming fire. Great table next to fireplace. Menu and quality service makes your dining experience excellent. It's a don't miss!!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam49172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
5.8 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 39 in Jackson
903 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Capitol Inn
Old Capitol Inn
#5 of 39 in Jackson
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabot Lodge Millsaps
Cabot Lodge Millsaps
#13 of 39 in Jackson
184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#4 of 39 in Jackson
338 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Jackson Downtown-Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Inn

Property: Fairview Inn
Address: 734 Fairview St, Jackson, MS 39202-1624
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairview Inna boutique hotel in Jackson, MS, offers the charm, ambiance, and hospitality of a bed and breakfast in Jackson, Mississippi, as well as the service and amenities of small luxury hotels. The Fairview Inn, is the only AAA Four-Diamond small luxury hotel in the area. We invite you to experience unique lodging with local flavor in this fully renovated historic 1908 Colonial Revival Mansion.Complimentary parking, WI-FI, beverages, snacks and passes to nearby Health Club. Close to theatre, museums, shopping, attractions, historic landmarks, and more! 15 Minutes from airport. Plan your trip now and come experience true Southern Hospitality at our premier boutique hotel in Jackson, Mississippi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fairview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing