We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a great place to visit!”

Mississippi Museum of Natural Science
Ranked #3 of 53 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Meet over 200 living species in our 100,000 gallon aquarium network. See native reptiles, fishes, and amphibians! Explore an entire wall of fossil specimens, Zygorhiza, Mosasaurus, and a giant Sloth. Check out deer, waterfowl, and Mississippi's endangered species exhibits. The Preschool Discovery Room features colorful murals and an iconic, giant treehouse with a slide. Plus, two miles of outdoor walking trails that wind through natural habitats. The museum was named the "2014 Escape to the Southeast Travel Attraction of the Year" by the Southeast Tourism Society.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“This was a great place to visit!”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We arrived to a beautiful, new, clean facility. It was more than I expected, with REAL Live turtles, fish, snakes and frogs. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there. It was also next to a brand new children's museum which looked great too. There was an interesting film on frogs too. Additionally, they had an outdoor area (in the back of the facility) where you could hike on trails. It was really lots of fun!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank HoneyBubbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    75
    11
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rescue, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must see in Jackson!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very interresting place for children and adults. There is a beautiful park around the museum for picnicking with flora of the area marked for identification. The museum has a special presentation every few months along with live fish and reptiles of the area, stuffed animals in a natural habitat and a history of each animal. The special this month was frogs. Many species were displayed. The kids loved it and I enjoyed it too!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeMSJMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“It was nice”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The kids enjoyed it and so did we :) The only complaint I have is the address they give isn't really it's true address and thus the GPS wasn't able to get us their.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank wallflowerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awsome”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I have taken my children several times. The theam changes every couple of months so its never the same. I would highly recomend this to anyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank Devildog126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, MS
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Depending on what exhibit they have going at the time, this attraction will most probably interest every one in your family. Very kid friendly. We went to see the Megalodon Exhibit but be forewarned...they do not have an entire Megalodon skeleton. It's still worth a visit. Many, many fossils found in Mississippi that I was unaware we even had in North America at all. Very educational. They have fish, turtle and alligator tanks along with a terrarium. This is not the science museum of 20 years ago.

Helpful?
4 Thank The_Diva777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mississippi Museum of Natural Science also viewed

 

Been to Mississippi Museum of Natural Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing