We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Personalized Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
Ranked #3 of 53 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Patterned after the National Capitol, this has been the Capitol building for the state of Mississippi since 1903. Today it is major tourist attraction as well as the focus of Mississippi state government activities.
Canaan, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Personalized Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I came for a scheduled tour, as advertised on the State Capitol's website. Brenda gave me an outstanding personal tour of the capitol building. She is very knowledgable about Mississippi history and was a pleasure to learn from. She also recommended that I visited the Mississippi Governor's Mansion which was giving tours that morning as well and I had a great tour there as well. Overall, I can't wait to come back to Jackson, Mississippi!

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank JarrodC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    46
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
458 reviews
206 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Gr8 One-Hour Historic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The historic State Capitol Building was an amazing place to tour for a Granny and a 15 and 6 year-old. There is no cost and it was so interesting that they didn't realize it was also educational and a history lesson.

We found free parking across the street from the Capitol and took a photo of the grandkids in front of the building with a replica liberty bell. Note: NO photos or food/drink are allowed inside.

The building is elegant with ornate domed ceilings and beautiful marble and details. A free booklet is available detailing many of the details to look for and construction costs and information..

Access was easy on the lower level and after going thru a metal detector we had the option of a self-guided tour with an information sheet listing the highlights of the building. We rode the elevator to the 4th floor and visited the Senate and House chambers while the legislators were in session. It was hard to understand some of the bills presented as they spoke and moved very quickly. But we did hear one discussion on the Senate floor for a bill to teach CPR in high school, which was passed and relevant to my grandson. We then crossed over to the House chamber to view the process again, and then made sure to note the glass circles in the corridor floors. We proceeded down the grand staircase to view the stained glass panels illuminated buy natural light thru the circles in the floor above us, which the kids thought was pretty cool. We also saw the offices of the house & senate members and walked past the Governor's office, although he is usually across the street in another office. The second floor used to house the Supreme Court, and the first floor was a rotunda and small gift shop. The gift shop gave us free "capitol" pins, an informative coloring book for each child and a MS Tour Guide.

Next time, I'll opt for a guided tour to get more details and have the ability to get questions answered, but it was a gr8 way to spend an hour while in Jackson during Spring break..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tour of History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Attended child's field trip. Well thought out tours and very educational. Capital Building laid out well and tours provide a wealth of history.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“We'll worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I had a great tour and both the house and senate were in session which was great to see the architecture.

Architecture in the building and attention to detail is Fantastic, wonderful guided tour and a small quaint gift shop

Helpful?
Thank Froomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty Building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Toured the grounds. Pretty building, replica of the Liberty Bell out front, statue commemorating sacrifices of women of the Confederacy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sexcupid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing