We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and friendly to tourists”
Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
Ranked #4 of 54 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Patterned after the National Capitol, this has been the Capitol building for the state of Mississippi since 1903. Today it is major tourist attraction as well as the focus of Mississippi state government activities.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful and friendly to tourists”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I ove to visit old buildings and this is a great building with fun architecture similar to capital building in dc with rotunda, they let us roam around the building and and my daughter 12 loved it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    48
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Perhaps my favorite functioning state capitol building. The golden dome of the capital stands out from a distance and is just one small part of a beautiful building. There is no fee for the tour. However, I did not do the tour because they are typically done 11, 1, and 2:30. However, I would call in advance to confirm the tour times. I did spend thirty minutes walking around the grounds and toured through it on my own. The rotunda will hold your attention as you will notice several themse running through-Native Americans, Justice is blind, the settlement of Mississippi by white farmers. You can get passes to tour through the galleries of the Senate and House while you are there, but the pictures of senators and reps over the past 30 years is a history lesson all on its own. There is a small gift shop on the lower level of the rear of the building. The grounds do not have a lot of statues, but there is one to the women of the Confederacy which I founds fascinating on the back side of the grounds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemente71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Pictures”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good opportunity to take picutures, beautiful building! Would have loved to see the inside, but were there just overnight.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CHIEF9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was beautiful in the capital, definitely a must see. The people are super friendly there, they told us all about the capitals history, very interesting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ginnylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you are interest in history then it is a must if you are visiting Jackson, Mississippi. We strolled around the grounds and took pictures of the building on a beautiful spring day. It was Sunday so the building was closed. But when we asked where the closest restroom was, a very nice police officer let us into the building to use the facilities. It was southern hospitality at its best. The building looked beautiful inside. We chatted with the officer for a little bit and he gave us some history. What a gentleman and it gave us a great appreciation for the people of Mississippi.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamhoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing