We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunningly beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
Ranked #4 of 54 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Patterned after the National Capitol, this has been the Capitol building for the state of Mississippi since 1903. Today it is major tourist attraction as well as the focus of Mississippi state government activities.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
335 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Perhaps my favorite functioning state capitol building. The golden dome of the capital stands out from a distance and is just one small part of a beautiful building. There is no fee for the tour. However, I did not do the tour because they are typically done 11, 1, and 2:30. However, I would call in advance to confirm the tour times. I did spend thirty minutes walking around the grounds and toured through it on my own. The rotunda will hold your attention as you will notice several themse running through-Native Americans, Justice is blind, the settlement of Mississippi by white farmers. You can get passes to tour through the galleries of the Senate and House while you are there, but the pictures of senators and reps over the past 30 years is a history lesson all on its own. There is a small gift shop on the lower level of the rear of the building. The grounds do not have a lot of statues, but there is one to the women of the Confederacy which I founds fascinating on the back side of the grounds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemente71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    47
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bennington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Pictures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good opportunity to take picutures, beautiful building! Would have loved to see the inside, but were there just overnight.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CHIEF9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was beautiful in the capital, definitely a must see. The people are super friendly there, they told us all about the capitals history, very interesting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ginnylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you are interest in history then it is a must if you are visiting Jackson, Mississippi. We strolled around the grounds and took pictures of the building on a beautiful spring day. It was Sunday so the building was closed. But when we asked where the closest restroom was, a very nice police officer let us into the building to use the facilities. It was southern hospitality at its best. The building looked beautiful inside. We chatted with the officer for a little bit and he gave us some history. What a gentleman and it gave us a great appreciation for the people of Mississippi.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamhoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevallo, Alabama
Level Contributor
125 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very beautiful capitol building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Admission is free, but you do have to go through metal detectors and security. They offer tours, but i was running short on time so i had to skip this. (Unfortunate because the tour guide was a doll). The capitol building is beautiful - great rotunda and dome. Several monuments outside on the capitol grounds. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the Jackson area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank autigerrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing