We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To-Die-For Barbecue!”

Memphis Barbecue Co.
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Horn Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rapid City, Sd
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“To-Die-For Barbecue!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The baby back ribs we had tonight are by far the best we've ever tasted! We both had the dry rub half rack, and it was totally awesome! Seasoned to perfection, it didn't even need BBQ sauce. The cornbread was great too. Our server was attentive even though he was quite busy, and we were extremely satisfied. If we lived in the area, we would be regulars at this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LINDA_RENEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    190
    69
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Everytime I come to the Memphis area. I have to eat here. Great smokehouse flavor smothered in dry rub. The sauces on the table if you want it. I prefer the dry rub. Balanced with greens and Mac and cheese. The Ghost River ale is oh so flavorful. The place is clean and the staff is friendly. Probably five miles south of Memphis international airport.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corvette6
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“going down fast”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

i liked this place when they first opened and the food was good so was the service and after watching the kingsford bbq comp show i was told the lady from nesbit was the owner and rib queen in the memphis area so i ask for a lady of her caliper why isint the restaurant on the same level i think each customer should be treated like a judge, ribs shouldnt be given in aluminum foil also ive had a few orders where the ribs seemed old like yesterdays ribs and far as service well to many people bumping in to each other and taking the same orders twice even the call in orders arent being taken correctly i eat here alot and ive seen this place at its best an at its worst an the owner needs to step it up or it WILL BE GONE SOON as the up scale desoto county folks are getting fed up with bad businesses

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corvette6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cheese fritters”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good food and atmosphere. We had the combo plates with sausage, ribs, turkey, and beef. The food was good. It did actually lack a good smoke flavor, which was disappointing. Wll not go back due to that fact. Had to fight the flys on the patio and they didn't have Stella beer.


This may sound bad, but don't pass it up if you have the opportunity.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TylerDConway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellville, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great ribs!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stopped at MBBQC on our way to Destin. We heard about it on Diners, Drive-ins & Dives and had to stop and try the ribs and cheese fritters. They did not disappoint. We arrived late on Sunday evening and they were still very busy. We got a table very quickly and ordered the rib basket and cheese fritters from the appetizers menu. Service was great and so was the food. As good as any ribs I've ever had. I just wish I would have ordered more. Next time I will!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tottboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memphis Barbecue Co. also viewed

 

Been to Memphis Barbecue Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing