We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Guy Fieri for the Recommendation!!!!”

Memphis Street Cafe
Ranked #26 of 52 Restaurants in Hernando
Cuisines: American
Description: Memphis Street Cafe is a small cafe located in the basement of an old building in Hernando. They are open for lunch daily and in the evenings on Friday and Saturday nights. The sandwiches are really large portions and an excellent value for the money and taste. Highly recommend the restaurant for Trip Advisor.
Restaurant details
Description: Memphis Street Cafe is a small cafe located in the basement of an old building in Hernando. They are open for lunch daily and in the evenings on Friday and Saturday nights. The sandwiches are really large portions and an excellent value for the money and taste. Highly recommend the restaurant for Trip Advisor.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Thanks Guy Fieri for the Recommendation!!!!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

So after watching Diners, Drive-In's and Dives, I just had to follow Guy's recommendation and head down to this little stop. I definitely, most highly, absolutely recommend the bananas foster! This by far was probably one of the best banana desserts I've ever had. If you're lucky enough to get into Hernando be aware this place is a tad hard-to-find; you will have to go down the stairs, since it's tucked away in a little basement but it's totally worth it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USTraveler2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mattoon, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
505 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“A pleasant time”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We arrived downtown Hernando at 6:00 for the purpose of eating dinner at the Memphis Street Café - one of the three restaurants on the town square. It was a good one. It is located in the basement of a 100+ year old building which, where we found ourselves to be the sole patrons. This is not a good sign but we stayed anyway on the strength of the TripAdvisor recommendations.

By 7:30 when we finished our meal, there were probably twenty others there. The restaurant has been around a number of years (not a large number) but was only recently taken over by Larry Cullenane and his wife. They took the place over just a month ago but kept the same menu that had made the place popular. They are transplants from southern California as of a year and half ago (although Larry’s wife is originally from Bangkok). Larry is a very gracious host: very friendly, seeming to enjoy spending most of his time visiting with guests.

The food was excellent. And very reasonably priced. Joan had their crepes stuffed with grilled marinated chicken and topped with a mushroom dill cream sauce served with rice pilaf and fresh vegetable of the day. I had a blackened chicken breast simmered in garlic cream and Cajun spices with grilled peppers, onions, and stewed tomatoes over Southern style grits. Both entrees were eleven bucks a piece - not bad for freshly prepared food with quality ingredients. We’d stop here again in a minute.

$35 with tax and tip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank joan&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sweet, serviceable”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Lovely local bare-bones country kitchen. Food does the job- the atmosphere is not complicated and the people are very kind. A small town experience really worth having.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ancynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Not where I would choose to do dinner. More of a lunch type restaurant. I guess having the owners daughter (maybe 7years old) being the hostess, taking drink orders & setting up tables seems cute to some folks but not me or anyone in my party. We all ordered sandwiches Ruben, turkey Ruben, chicken philly and patty melt & split the beef and spinach manicotti entree. I have never had manicotti made from tortillas that were stuffed with hamburger meat and frozen spinach then covered in thick Alfredo and baked until the tortillas were hard and difficult to cut. Don't know why they call it manicotti, as it comes no where near what real manicotti is. When sandwiches were ordered one came out wrong, advised older waitress and she said she wrote it right, the kitchen got it wrong! She said its hard to tell the kitchen when they are wrong, but she was sorry. There are many other options in Hernando and next time I'll choose another restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphy512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory Valley
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint and charming”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great friendly service and delicious food. My husband enjoyed his blackened grouper and I devoured the chicken crepes

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memphis Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Memphis Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing