We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for mini vacation!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hernando
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sassafras Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Hernando B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Eric is a wonderful and pleasant host, and we were very pleased as this was our first experience at a B&B. We picked it because it was close to Memphis and I will say this, every single picture on his website is accurate, which is a good thing. We booked the cottage for one night and were shocked at how many drinks were in the fridge for us and how cozy the room was... it was perfect and just what we needed. The pool is wonderful and so is the hot tub, and the cottage is the ultimate romantic get-a-way spot. Eric delivered breakfast to the cottage door and there is a dining room table in there for two. I loved it but think the price for the cottage is a little steep compared to prices in Arkansas. It was a great first experience though.

Room Tip: For romance, book the cottage, hands down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didi28Memphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 50 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

We had a great stay at this wonderful bed and breakfast. The inn's location is perfect - peaceful, safe and relaxing - and yet only 20 minutes from the attractions of Memphis. Although the Mississippi was flooding during our stay, the inn is not near the river and so was totally unaffected. Eric derserves 6 stars for his thoughtful hospitality! A great place to stay, and the 2 nights for 1 offer makes it exceptional value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenhuckvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We stayed at this B&B because it was close to Memphis. Hubby used the pool but it was quite warm and humid when we were there so the hot tub wasn't calling us. The room was basic and comfortable. The common area offered a nice selection of movies which was a what we did before going to bed. Breakfast was french toast and bacon, yogurt, fruit and coffee. Eric was a pleasant host and we enjoyed chatting with him while having breakfast. I wouldn't describe this spot as a vacation destination but it was just fine if you are just passing through.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snorkelspaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

This was an absolutely outstanding place to stay! I really liked the atmosphere and the place was impeccably clean which I find very important. Only 20 minutes from downtown Memphis, TN and very convenient to all of the sites that we wanted to visit during our stay. The Inn owner, Eric was so very helpful while planning the trip and assisted with setting up some surprises for my girlfriend’s birthday, he really goes above and beyond and runs a great place. Staying here is a no brainer, reasonably priced, quiet, clean and very cozy. As a couple we have been to many bed and breakfasts around the country, this is THE BEST…

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I have stayed here two times while traveling to North Carolina from Oklahoma. It is the perfect stopping place for our two-day trip. The rooms are lovely and best is the heated enclosed pool, open only in summer, and the spa which is going year round. There is a shower and changing room off the pool area. It's right off the kitchen. We stay in the Magnolia room which is plenty large enough for the two of us. The bathroom is shower only, which is fine for us. I shower in the pool area anyway. The breakfast is lovely and we enjoy the host. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindainchina2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Our host Eric was unbelievably accommodating. The inn itself is very luxurious and clean. Indoor pool, hot tub etc.
Great host and tour guide. Helped us immensely in finding our way around Memphis and area.
His buy 2 nights, get 1 free ended up in 3 nights averaging less than $100.
Great deal. We look forwarding to coming back in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyjoe1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We spent 3 lovely days here. Host was extremely helpful, pleasant, and accomodating. Breakfast was delicious and filling. 20-25 minutes away from downtown Memphis, 20-25 minutes away from casinos at Tunica. Tons to do in the Memphis-Northern MS area, so much we only hit the tip of the iceberg.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisSpringfield_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hernando hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hernando
Hampton Inn Hernando
#1 of 3 in Hernando
335 reviews
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Hernando
Days Inn Hernando
#3 of 3 in Hernando
134 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Hernando
Super 8 Hernando
#2 of 3 in Hernando
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Meadow View Farm Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Magnolia Grove Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sassafras Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sassafras Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 785 Highway 51 S, Hernando, MS 38632-8149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hernando
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hernando
Price Range: $75 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sassafras Inn Bed and Breakfast is located just 14 miles south of Graceland, 22 miles south of Memphis TN with the Beale Street Entertainment District, 14 miles south from Memphis International Airport and east 30 miles from the Casinos and River Museum at Tunica. It is a favorite for couples as a romantic retreat and for visitors as a great location base for touring the many local attractions within a 30 minute drive. A full country breakfast is served in the Dining Room for the 3 Guest Rooms and direct to the door of the Heart's Content Cottage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing