We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Reservation Not Honored” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Executive Inn

Executive Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hattiesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Executive Inn
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Hattiesburg
New Orleans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reservation Not Honored”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

I reserved a room at the Ramada on the Hill well in advance of Hurricane Gustav - before it hit Jamaica - and guaranteed it with a credit card. I spoke with the hotel directly at least 4 times -including the day before arrival to be sure we received a handicap accessible room for a 96 year old wheelchair bound mother-in-law. I was assured I would. On the day of our arrival our reservation was not honored! I had left New Orleans and here I was stranded with no room! Unconscionable behavior!

My confirmation # 56513090!

  • Disliked — Did not honor reservation!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewOrleansBcgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    1
    12
See reviews for
4
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

Our experience at this hotel was TERRIBLE! It was nothing like I expected. When we first got there, we planned on eating in their restaurant which sounded like it was supposed to be great, but the cook called in sick, (they only have one and couldn't find a replacement?), so the restaurant was not open and we had to go out again after a very long day of traveling. The room was not great, (think Motel 6), but didn't seem too bad at first. That is until we found out the hard way that the toilet seat was not attached well and slid off when you sat down. That's more excitement than I care for when going to the bathroom! After dinner, I went to take a bath and found out that the light in the bathroom turns off after only a few minutes! Then it turned on only when someone walked close to it to turn it on again, so I kept sitting down in the bath and had to keep getting up every few minutes to walk towards the light to activate it again. It's not fun to take a bath in the dark, or with a light switch that seems to be controlled by a ghost with a sense of humor! In addition, the tub had gross stuff coming out from under the bath mat and one of the bedside lamps didn't work. We were there 3 days and, unfortunately, had a non-refundable reservation. They said they would send workmen over to make repairs, but the only thing they fixed was cleaning under the bath mat. In addition to the problems with our room, they were doing remodeling and the workers just left messes everywhere after they finished work for the day and we found a razor blade in the middle of the main walkway! Not good!

  • Liked — Inland, central location away from hurricane zone.
  • Disliked — Electrical system was way out of wack, bathroom was dirty and in disrepair.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steph112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hattiesburg hotels

Senatobia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2008

When I made my reservations I stressed that I needed 2 adjoining rooms and was told that would not be a problem. On the morning of the day I was to arrive at the hotel I called to confirm that we did indeed have the 2 adjoining rooms and was told that I did. I then told the clerk that it would be after 6:00 PM before we would check in. When I arrived at at the inn, I was given a room on one floor and the other room was located on another floor at the opposite end of the hotel. I took a room with a king size bed and a fold-out couch. I was not told the couch was only big enough for a single person. There were 3 adults and 3 children all piled up in one room with only 1 bed.
There wasn't any sheets for the couch and when I requested sheets I was told to return to my room and search for them again. I had to ask the second time for sheets. When I finally received the sheets I was told there were no extra pillows aside from the 2 pillows on the bed.. We also had only 2 washcloths and 2 towels for 6 people, because apparently there were not any more clean linens either.
I arrived at 6:00 PM and the restaurant was closed. The vending machines were completely empty. A lady and her son were already complaining at the desk regarding these issues.
When I checked in a man was requesting his refund so that he could check out and go to another hotel because this one was very unsatifactory. These scenes should have been clues for me to never have checked in to this place.
If you are just passing through and it is only 1 or 2 of you to stay just overnight, then this place may be okay for you. I frankly don't believe it is worth the price they charge and I will never book my stay here again when I make my yealy run through Hattiesburg.

  • Liked — Not much of anything
  • Disliked — Miscommunication regarding requested accomadations
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyRiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2006

I had an important event coming up. I had reserved 4 rooms at Inn On The Hill 3 months prior to our son's graduation. I called several times to confirm that the rooms were reserved. The day before we were to arrive I received a call from the sales manager at Inn On The Hill. He stated that they had a pipe burst and had reserved 4 rooms at
University Inn for us. He assured me that University Inn was a comparable motel. University Inn was filthy. There was something brown dried on the wall in the room that my parents stayed in. The bathtubs were so dirty that no one would take a bath in them.
When I spoke to the sales manager at Inn On The Hill he was apologetic but did not offer any compensation. The manager at University Inn has yet to return my call .

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales Director at Executive Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2006
While we regret having to move any guest that has prior reservations, this situation was unaviodable due to an issue that came up with our main water line. We did everthing possible to have the problem fixed overnight but the issue took longer than expected. In order to accomodate these reservations, I did locate an alternative location that in my previous experiences was a comparable property. I have worked with University Inn for over 5 years now and this was the first time I recieved a bad complaint about the condition of University Inn's rooms. This is standard procedure for hotels in this situation. Since I did move the guest to another location, I did comp her entire party to our full breakfast buffet, a $64.00 value, for the inconvenience. According to University Inn, any problems that the guest experienced with their hotel is being handled through their management. We at Inn on the Hill have taken nessecarry steps to ensure that any future referrals are carfefully inspected before being recommended to the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, AR
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2005

After having two different bad experiences with Hattiesburg motels, we decided to try what we thought was a much better class of motel. Sadly, we were mistaken. The outside is nice and the location up on a hill is nice. However, upon entering the rooms, we found terribly dirty, stained carpet that was just "gummy" it was so old and dirty. The sinks and tubs had not been cleaned, the faucets were dirty, and there was hair on the floors in the bathroom area. The coffee pot still had coffee from the last person that stayed in that room. There was no remote and when we did get one, we had to return it because it didn't work. When we were given another one, we were handed the instructions on how to program it to our television. The microwave also did not work. The furniture is in bad shape. After calling the general manager to no avail and leaving a message, I was called by the desk manager and offered a free night within a year to compensate for the "problem" I had encountered. I explained that I didn't think I would want to go through that again and was told that was all they were willing to do. I was also told I should have asked to be moved to another room, but since the two rooms we were given were both in the same disgusting condition, I didn't see how moving was going to make a difference. The review written before mine was pretty close to describing the shoddy conditions and I doubt seriously they stayed in the same rooms! So, as far as changing rooms at midnight, I didn't see it helping the situation. "No room at the Inn" might be your best bet!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Bev_cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hattiesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N.
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn University
Clarion Inn University
#24 of 38 in Hattiesburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#16 of 38 in Hattiesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Hattiesburg
Quality Inn Hattiesburg
#23 of 38 in Hattiesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Northgate Inn Hattiesburg
Northgate Inn Hattiesburg
#31 of 38 in Hattiesburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn

Property: Executive Inn
Address: 6595 US Highway 49 North, Hattiesburg, MS 39401 (Formerly Inn on the Hill)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Also Known As:
Inn On The Hill Hotel Hattiesburg
Inn On The Hill Hattiesburg
Hotel On The Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing