We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right for the Price and Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
1 review
“Right for the Price and Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I live locally and like to get away from time to time. Since we usually only stay one night, we always look for hotels with great amenities and #1 on our list is an in-room whirlpool. We booked a night with Hampton specifically because of the in-room Jacuzzi. We were disappointed to find that it was not working properly and called the front desk before check out the following morning. We noticed when we checked in how nice the housekeeping staff was, going out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. I spoke to Frank about the problem with the whirlpool and asked for a late check out in return. He was absolutely wonderful and offered us a free night in another Jacuzzi room or a complete refund (which we were not expecting at all!). I told him I was not asking for a full refund, and that a partial one would be fair. He was adamant that we should receive a full refund and was a pleasure to deal with. The room is right for the price - nothing super fancy but clean, neat and serviceable. I will definitely be staying here again, if only for the friendly and professional staff. I was very impressed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesboy3, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for the review. I apologize again that the whirlpool jets malfunctioned while you all were here. I know that can put a damper on a getaway weekend. It was a pleasure to speak with you as well and I am thankful that you will return and give us another chance to make things right. We are a Hampton Inn and we stand behind our 100% satisfaction guarantee. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    110
    101
    60
    61
See reviews for
133
86
28
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Dated Hampton Inn with Exterior Room Entry. Good location. Due to the old style exterior entry, it would be best if hotel was torn down and rebuilt. Our room was close to pool, it was very noisy. Other than these two items, it was a good hotel, just not as nice as most newer Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesboy3, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while in The City of Hattiesburg. If you return please give us a heads up and we will place you in our interior corridor building if available. We are an older property with a variety of room locations and a unique style. We work hard to ensure a clean room and friendly service. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stay at Hampton Inn due to experience in another one in Moss Point,Ms don't ever do that.The hotels are not the same.Hattiesburg HamptonInn on Hardy St.stinks and it shall not be rated..it need to close down and the outside and do a FACE LIFT.CALL THE PROS!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ofaithful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hattiesburg hotels

Burns, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Hampton Inn at Hattiesburg was pretty good. It was a good value for the price. The rooms with interior entrance seems to be more secure. This is the one we had. The exterior entrance rooms looked old and less secure. The staff was very pleasant and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesboy3, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for staying and taking the time to compose a property review. Service and cleanliness are our promise and it seems that we kept that to you as a valued guest. If you are ever in the area again please stop in and stay. We are here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is the first hotel I have stayed in that does not have an elevator. They have indoor and outdoor access rooms, which I don't recall seeing on their website. We requested indoor access rooms and had 4 rooms on the second floor. After loading up the luggage carts with bags, you discover there is no elevator. A little frustrated at this point, we pointed that out to the front desk staff who started laughing at us as if it funny. After taking the bags to the rooms, we told the front desk staff how unprofessional their action was and we told they were laughing at something else. The room would be average if it were clean and maintained. The cultured marble shower surround had a large and very sharp cracked piece that our children could have easily cut their hands if we hadn't sat there with them for their entire bath. The grout on the bathroom floor was nearly black in the middle and beige near wall. There were pieces of candy under the fold out couch. Something spilled on the door to the adjacent room. There was also a note on the headboard saying the "duvet covers and sheets are clean for your arrival". In all my hotel stays, that is a first. Not a pleasant stay and not up to Hampton Inns Standards. There are 2-3 other hotels within blocks of this one, I would try one of them over this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasBuilder2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesboy3, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We truly appreciate you expressing your concern about the condition of your guest room. I have noted the issues and forwarded them to the appropriate department to get these things corrected. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartsville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is not up to the general quality of Hampton Inns that I have stayed in the past. Staff was very helpful and polite and moved us to another room when we were not satisfied with our original one. Mattresses slide off of the beds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Athena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesboy3, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for styaing with us and I appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selmer, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were in the area for the Dixie Youth World Series. There was more than one baseball team staying at this hotel. but the staff had NO PROBLEM keeping up. And that was GREAT! When we needed extra towels, there was someone at our room right away with them. The breakfast staff was great as far as keeping food available. The only thing I would change at breakfast, is to add another waffle maker. Everyone loves waffles. Thank you for having such a friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Toni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesboy3, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly appreciate all feedback as it helps us in our attempts to provide ultimate service. Please come and stay with us again next year if you are in the area. P.S. we will work on getting a 2nd waflle maker when ball teams are here :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hattiesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hattiesburg
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hattiesburg
Hilton Garden Inn Hattiesburg
#2 of 38 in Hattiesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Hattiesburg - I-59
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER University Inn
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hattiesburg
Residence Inn Hattiesburg
#6 of 38 in Hattiesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
Address: 4301 Hardy Street, Hattiesburg, MS 39401 (Formerly Hampton Inn Hattiesburg)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities at our hotel to make your stay exceptional. Whether you're planning a corporate meeting or need accommodations for a family reunion or your child's sporting group, we're delighted to offer you easy planning and booking tools to make the process quick and organized. We offer newly renovated hotel rooms, complete with refrigerators and microwaves in each room. We are located within 1 mile of the Turtle Creek shopping mall, restaurants, movie theater, USM campus, and within 20 minutes of Camp Shelby. Enjoy a free hot buffet breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hattiesburg Hotel Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing