We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing diamond in the ruff!”

Crescent City Grill
Ranked #1 of 255 Restaurants in Hattiesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rockledge, FL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing diamond in the ruff!”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

After a tough afternoon in Hattiesburg, we were just hoping for a good bite to eat. This place totally hit the spot! My husband and I split the sampler, YUM! It was a great combo of several specialties. I started with the corn and crab bisque and it was excellent.

We ended our meal with the white chocolate bread pudding....Devine!!

The service was fantastic and if we ever are driving through Hattiesburg ( since I'm not interested in staying there again), we will definitely eat here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    151
    42
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central VA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Had a great dinner”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We found Crescent City Grill through the recommendation of our hotel front desk, and I checked the reviews before we went.
I'm so glad we did.
We were sick of chains, and wanted something different.
Success!
I ordered the Seafood Sampler and my husband had the Shrimp Carnivale. Our son was graced with pasta alfredo.
Service was excellent!
Food was really tasty and well presented. The shrimp pie was down right yummy.
My husband loved his dinner and the potatoes au gratin are divine.
Our son gobbled his dinner down and even polished off an ice cream sundae.
Thank you for a great meal!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StefCentralVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, Mississippi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ho-hum. Any dish from my kitchen tastes better on any given day.”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

The food "reads well", meaning the menu description makes the mouth water. It was hard to decide what to order, but they failed to deliver the tantalizing tastes I expected. Further, my too-lemony Caesar salad was delivered with my entree. When the manager came to inquire about the timing of salad, he asked about my entree.

I ordered the grilled catch of the day with Ponchatrain topping (extra $4 that the new server failed to include in quoted price). "Bland." I'm not one to add salt to my food in restaurants, but I tried to improve the lackluster taste. He brought me Shrimp and Grits next. Again, nothing. Finally I settled on Blueberry Blitz--cobbler with ice cream and whipped topping. Still didn't whet my appetitie. I ate every bit but only because by then I was terribly hungry.

I went because it's a Hattiesburg hallmark. I felt I couldn't say I had eaten in Hattiesburg without eating at Crescent. Now I can say, "Been there. Done."

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romance, Business, Friends, or Family. It's just Perfect.”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Crescent City, was really phenomenal. As restaurant snob when it comes to local fares. I stopped by this establishment while here on business. It was really excellent. The staff is prompt, which is expected given the price. The atmosphere was par for the menu, and the food was just outstanding.

They have a seasonal crawfish menu, but do seafood year long it appears. As well as a variety of steaks.

It's well worth the price. I recommend it for travelers looking for a good meal.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Archey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glad we stopped”
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Interesting place... half is elegant dining and half is casual. the decorations are hilarious. the gumbo, roast beef po boy and sweet tea were very good! The staff was friendly. the price was affordable.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annod137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crescent City Grill also viewed

 

Been to Crescent City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing