We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Convenient to everything” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northgate Inn Hattiesburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northgate Inn Hattiesburg
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Convenient to everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Guesthouse is an older hotel with a bar and restaurant on the property. It is older but clean and safe. The front desk people were helpful and polite. Nothing special but for a one night pass through it was fine. Didn't use the bar area but a lot of people did. It was full.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skipster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
2
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night while traveling through MS. The bed was clean, the guy at the front desk was nice and helpful upon checking in, and there is a fridge in the room, but that's where the pluses end. I got up during the night to use the bathroom and killed a roach near the toilet. Before returning to bed I turned on the bedroom light to adjust the air conditioner and saw another roach crawling on the front door. I attempted to kill it also but it scurried back through the crack to the outside of the room. Also, at 2:16 AM I was awakened by a dumpster being emptied. I'm not sure if this was the dumpster of the hotel or for the diner on the property but it was very loud with metal banging on metal, and also the reverse signal for the truck was loud. Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deebeeinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Northgate Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your stay with us at Guesthouse Northgate Inn. I'm glad the service and location pleased you. I am sorry to hear about the insects in your room. We have scheduled insects prevention every two weeks in all of rooms. We have garbage pick-up twice a week and they arrive around 10AM. I was unaware of the dumpster being emptied at that time.

Thank you again for the response. We are working hard at Guesthouse Northgate Inn to correct all the situations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were a little hesitant to stay here because of the previous comments, but after searching around, this was the best value in town. The front desk employees were very friendly and polite, and the room we stayed in was very clean. Normally, I don't write these things, but after seeing the negative comments, I felt obliged to put my two cents in. I would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in this area.

-Jim

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcrickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

This was the worse place I have ever been to, I can't believe how horrid it was. It was GHETTO, the service and ppl seem to be unfriendly as I am asian and my companion was white. They just stood up and stared at us. Once we got to the rooms, it stenched like sewage and we GAGGED!! DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mykal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

I'll preface this by saying I did not intend to stay here. My actual hotel reservation was in Gulfport, but I didn't finish working in Jackson until late and was too tired to drive back all the way to Gulfport.

This was only place with rooms b/c of graduation at the nearby university.

It was the absolute most disgusting place I've ever stayed in. Worse than any falling down hostel in Europe. Roaches and mold everywhere. Unsafe area.

Partying going on in courtyard until 4AM. I called the MOD and he told them which room I was in so the kids pounded on my door and the walls for another hour so to get back at me. I should have called the cops.

Used towels and wash cloths on the floor. Dirty sheets, etc. I slept in my clothes and cancelled my meeting the following day because I couldn't bear the thought of showering there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martha_reagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hattiesburg hotels
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Hattiesburg MS
Days Inn Hattiesburg MS
#9 of 37 in Hattiesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hattiesburg
Candlewood Suites Hattiesburg
#10 of 37 in Hattiesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Hattiesburg South
Super 8 Hattiesburg South
#15 of 37 in Hattiesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N.
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Hattiesburg
Quality Inn Hattiesburg
#23 of 37 in Hattiesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northgate Inn Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northgate Inn Hattiesburg

Property: Northgate Inn Hattiesburg
Address: 6757 Highway 49, Hattiesburg, MS 39401 (Formerly Guesthouse Inn Hattiesburg)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Northgate Inn Hattiesburg 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this beautiful Hattiesburg, Mississippi hotel featuring period furniture and southern hospitality nested in pine tree forests. The Northgate Inn is conveniently located to the Terrance Convention Center and the University of Southern Mississippi. Hotel guests will also have easy access to nearby U.S. Army Camp Shelby. Each spacious, well-appointed room features all the little extras that make a big difference while traveling including cable satellite television. Hotel guests at this Hattiesburg hotel will find a unique diner offering home-style meals and a lively lounge featuring live music. This Hattiesburg hotel prides itself on providing dedicated personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Northgate Inn Hattiesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northgate Hotel Hattiesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing