We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarion Inn University
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My mother-in-law had open heart surgery at one of the nearby hospitals so we chose this place to stay since it was only about 5 minutes from the hospital. Rooms were nice, clean and big. Everything was included in the room which was very convenient. Great continental breakfast! Staff was friendly too. They even gave us a discount since we were hospital guests. The Pool was cloudy but we still swam. Only thing I didn't like was that the ice machine in our building wasn't working but there was another one in a nearby building so it wasn't so bad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistywhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo I, General Manager at Clarion Inn University, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Mistywhatley,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay and our property’s performance. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Also, we would like to make a special thanks for coming and staying with us and we are excited and honored to know that your Comfort Inn experience was with our team here in Hattiesburg and that it was a positive one.

We hope to see you again and during your next visit, we will gladly have that breakfast hot and ready for you and those ice makers crunching out in every building.

Again, we thank you for coming and staying with us and we are ecstatic to welcome you to our Comfort Inn family!

Sincerely,
Mo Ismail
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    41
    17
    21
    25
See reviews for
44
21
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rendon, Tx
Level Contributor
297 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

What makes this a good deal is get the travel coupon..found in the La./Miss. Booklet, which you can get a most gas stations. The rooms are large and clean. Parking can be a problem, since the big rigs use the same parking areas. Numerous eateries nearby. We had a glass of wine at the reception ..nice touch...breakfast was pretty good..egg patties with fresh biscuits, plus other choices. All-in-all a good choice in Hattiesburg. Also the evening and morning desk personnel we courteous and accommodating...big plus when your tuckered out from a long drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob P, General Manager at Clarion Inn University, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Fred, thank you so much for your sincere reviews and comments. From the entire team at the Comfort Inn we would like to thank you. Our team takes pride in ensuring that each guest that enters our doors is greeted by a gracious smile and southern hospitality. We do apologize for the parking issues with the big rig trucks, and the next time you visit us we will try to place you at a building with ample parking.

Again, we would like to say thank you for choosing Comfort Inn and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We used a coupon from the Travel Coupon book. The hotel's building is old and tired but the rooms are updated and renovated with a comfortable bed and large desk/work area that gave us plenty of space to eat our carry out dinner from Cracker Barrel nearby. The staff we encountered were friendly and took prompt, efficient care to get us to our room quickly. We enjoyed the free cocktails in the lobby bar. There are several low to mid priced hotels on this street, this one looks as old and tired as the others but it is a safe bet. The location is convenient for travelling this area and is close to the University.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a coupon which saved us quite a bit for the night with just the two of us. We were very pleased with our room - found it to be comfortably furnished, nice mattress, and very clean. We also found it to be very quiet - never heard a thing from another room. Check in and out and quick and efficient with friendly people. Looks like a nice pool and a nice area to sit if you have the time...which we didn't. A good stay!!

Room Tip: There are some rooms that have exterior and interior entrances and others that are only interior. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Accommodating!!!! This was our third stop at a motel today... Finally they had room... The lady at the front desk, had a line of people.. She was very efficient, but treated each one of us with kindness...it did not stop there. Everyone that we came in contact that worked here so nice... Rooms were clean. Good breakfast..Helpful staff!!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cruizerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The room itself was nice enough, comfortable to sleep and well furnished and internal doors. The lobby and fitness room were also nice. However, there were other parts of the stay that brought the experience down. The front desk staff were friendly on arrival, however the staff on the morning shift were incredibly rude not just to myself but 2 other guests waiting to check out.They were having a private conversation with a friend when one guest and then myself asked if we could quickly check out to get on the road only to be denied and wait 10 minutes for them to stop talking with their friend. The hotel itself had a very strong cigarette smell and when walking to reception after dark it appeared noticeably unsafe with a lady next to my room asking me to walk with her to her car as she had a few guys swear at her while drinking. This was probably a one off, but the noise was noticeable for reception and never stopped all night. I have seen other reviews where this has happened as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend conference and it was great! Comfortable accommodations and the staff was so kind and friendly. Will definitely stay here again if I'm in Hattiesburg. Convenient location and very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJNations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hattiesburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N.
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Hattiesburg
Quality Inn Hattiesburg
#23 of 37 in Hattiesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Hattiesburg MS
Days Inn Hattiesburg MS
#8 of 37 in Hattiesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#16 of 37 in Hattiesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn University

Property: Clarion Inn University
Address: 6541 Highway 49, Hattiesburg, MS 39401 (Formerly Comfort Inn University)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Inn is located on the intersection off Hwy 49 and Interstate 59. There are a large number of restaurants and shopping outlets within a 1-6 mile radius of our hotel. We are conveniently located close to The Lake Terrance Convention Center, The Country Club, and 3 miles south of HWY 49 is the University of Southern Mississippi. This convenient location attracts both business and leisure travelers to the area.Our hotel offers a hot complimentary breakfast each morning and complimentary manager's reception with cocktails Tuesday - Thursday from 5;30 - 7:30. On the premises, we have an outdoor pool, a coin operated guest laundry facility, fitness center, and a picnic area with a grill. Each room includes wireless internet, a large desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, and an iron with an ironing board. At the front desk, we keep items that the guest may have forgotten to bring with them such as toothbrushes, toothpaste, deodorant, combs, shower caps, razors, shaving cream, sewing kits, etc.; All of these items are at no cost to the guest. For our guest laundry facility, we offer laundry detergent and fabric softener at a small charge to the guest. A friendly staff to greet every guest upon check-in and during their entire stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing