We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planned Stop for the Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Usually almost always give La Quinta an "Excellent", but this location was an exception. This location looks like it's beginning a downward slide. Dead flowers in the hallway (maybe they should consider artificial?), plaster around my room door was beginning to crack, Breakfast items more limited in variety than other La Quinta's, etc. Small items, that if owner continues to neglect will affect this location and require more than a "refresh".

Employees were generally friendly. Room appeared clean, but is beginning to show wear. Bed was comfortable, as was pillows. Free USA Today in morning. Still a good value, but not one of LQ's shining star locations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmjcameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 165 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank I1935BVritad
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed there 14th of October, was surprised that place was only 1/4 full. Usually fills up fast. Big grass area in back for your 4 legged friends (do clean up after). Had to "rough" it, TV was not newer HD. Cracker Barrel close by, but tricky to find. Staff friendly and rooms older but clean. Good selection for breakfast, hot & cold.

Room Tip: Try for 1st floor & close to front of building, low 100's rooms. Weekend breakfast starts at...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great people working there, seemed clean to me, nice tv, great bed, cheap price. I often stay here when passing through Hattiesburg. They always treat me well. The general manager greeted us in the morning for breakfast, which in my opinion says good things about the place.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heatherhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pensacola, Florida, USA
1
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Overall it was great for an overnight stay for the price, but the hotel did smell of leftover smoking allowed in the rooms. Fruit was not replenished at breakfast, but overall it satisfied our needs. We checked in early evening and the clerk was very very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel is obviously an older LQ that needs some serious renovation. The water pressure is virtually non-existant. The staff was obviously unprepared to handle a busy weeked like homecoming weekend at the university - they had difficulty putting five rooms together even though we'd made our reservations way ahead of time. We had to check in after 3:00 because the rooms weren't ready and when we got them, there were no towels in the rooms. The front desk said they "knew". The a/c didn't seem to work in our room - it was hot! One member of our party was staying on the first floor and they said it smelled like dogs all throughout the thing - like a kennel. I get that LQ is pet friendly, but surely they could do something to make sure that it doesn't bother other guests. Only two out of our block of rooms had a microwave and fridge.
Breakfast was decent. There is a big area to eat in and you had your standard eggs, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereal, sausage, yogurt, and boiled eggs.

The hotel just seemed old and dirty. I love LQ and stay at them becaue they are usually pretty consistent, but this one was terrible.

Room Tip: Not on the first floor - that seems to be where all the animals are kept.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank 134travish
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hattiesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hattiesburg
Howard Johnson Hattiesburg
#13 of 33 in Hattiesburg
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N.
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Hattiesburg South
Super 8 Hattiesburg South
#16 of 33 in Hattiesburg
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#21 of 33 in Hattiesburg
76 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Hattiesburg
Quality Inn Hattiesburg
#23 of 33 in Hattiesburg
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg

Address: 6563 US Highway 49 North, Hattiesburg, MS 39401 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Hattiesburg)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range: $55 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Hattiesburg Hotel Hattiesburg
La Quinta Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing