We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Sure Why People Are Complaining...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Hattiesburg - Univ Of Southern Ms
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I work over the road, and stay in hotels for approximately 300 nights out of any given year. I've stayed in the best, and I've stayed in the worst. This Motel 6 is definitely one of the better "low-end" hotels I've stayed at, and is saved to my GPS' Favorites. The rooms are clean and spacious, the beds are comfy, and the A/C works well, and isn't too noisy. I didn't utilize the laundry facility or pool on this trip, but they are kept in good working order. The surrounding area looks a little "off", but I've always felt safe in the parking lot, and have never had any trouble with other guests.

Ash checked me in on my most recent stay, and was extremely attentive, professional, and courteous. Ash told me about several options available such as internet access, and even called after a few minutes to check that the room was satisfactory. I am SO impressed with the service I received on this stay, and will definitely be returning to this Motel 6 the next time I'm in the area. I hope to get to work with Ash again, and trust that all the staff at this location will be just as friendly and helpful.

A micro/fridge or free WiFi at this location would be nice, as it is one of the more "upscale" Motel 6s I have stayed at...but then, one doesn't stay at Motel 6 for the amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AardvarkTees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Hattiesburg - Univ Of Southern Ms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 55 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very small. Bugs in bathroom. Sheets are worn out and do not fit bed. Floor in bathroom had hair on it didn't look like it had been swept so let's say bet it didn't get mopped either. Very noise outside and can hear everything going on in next room. Wifi is $2.99 per person not per stay. Shower very, very small. Workers at front desk friendly. Over all you get what you pay for. Will never stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Owner at Motel 6 Hattiesburg - Univ Of Southern Ms, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear AngelJ,
Thank you for posting your review and for recognizing our friendly staff. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant stay you experienced as a result of the cleanliness and noise issues you encountered in your room. The issues you experienced are certainly not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was a nice Motel 6. It had been updated (as the majority of them been have so far). It is clean and located near fast food restaurants. Pet friendly, of course. Fairly easy to get to from the interstate. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IdrivealotMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place is not a dump. But they made a bad decision with the wood laminate floor. You would think it would be easier to clean but it was filty. I spilled a little water on the floor and used a towel to mop it up and it came up black. There is no excuse for this floor to be dirty. The floor was also damaged near the shower. I like Motel 6 because of their pet policy and I don't require a lot of amenities, but I do expect it to be clean. They said my favorite room was out of service so I stayed near the office (101). Do not let them talk you into staying at the front of the property if your objective is a good night's sleep... it is extremely noisy.

Room Tip: I like 127, it is easy to park in front of it and it is toward the back of the property on the non-s...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okiegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The new floor is very bad! makes the room loud, the bed moves, the floor was nasty and unclean there was spill spots on the floor, the floor in the bathroom was coming up had bubbles in it. I watch housekeeping clean the room across from me they didn't even use a mop or a swifter to clean the floor.The TV was old and didn't have hardly in channels,one channel had pic. but no sound,cig burns on top, panel broken where you could see the speaker in it. The sheets are in need of change they where old and yellow and didn't even fit the bed. Wore my socks around the room and by the end of the night they where black as the parking lot. Very unhappy with this hotel to have been redone as told on the web site. Overall I think housekeeping is in need of retraining or replacement in and management needs to double check the room cleanness.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is your basic fleabag. I stayed there for three nights as decreed by my employer. The floor material is a wood-grained linoleum-like stuff. There is no carpeting, clock, shampoo. There is not even a cover lid on the toilet. The shower is a stall shoved into one corner of the tiny bathroom. The help at the front desk is surly and disinterested. I would never stay at this place no matter who is paying for it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wingflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I like Motel 6 because it is pet friendly and inexpensive. When I travel I am usually going from one place to another and am just staying overnight. I got a nice quiet room about 6:30 p.m. I asked to be able to park in front of my door, so I was situated at the back of the motel, away from the pool. It was quiet, I fed the dog and ate my packed food and went to sleep. No problems. I intend to stay here again on my way through Hattiesburg.

Room Tip: If you don't want to use the pool, ask for a room toward the rear.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hattiesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Hattiesburg
Howard Johnson Hattiesburg
#13 of 33 in Hattiesburg
48 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Hattiesburg South
Super 8 Hattiesburg South
#16 of 33 in Hattiesburg
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Hattiesburg MS
Days Inn Hattiesburg MS
#15 of 33 in Hattiesburg
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N.
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Hattiesburg
Quality Inn Hattiesburg
#23 of 33 in Hattiesburg
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Hattiesburg - Univ Of Southern Ms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Hattiesburg - Univ Of Southern Ms

Address: 6508 U S Highway 49, I-59 at Exit #67A, Hattiesburg, MS 39401-3008
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range: $42 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Hattiesburg - Univ Of Southern Ms 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Hattiesburg - Univ Of Southern Ms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg Motel Six
Hattiesburg Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing