We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Hattiesburg
A TripAdvisor Member
“Awful”
Reviewed February 7, 2006

This hotel is terrible and unreliable. It is not clean. Also, the room was booked for further dates, and the hotel refused to uphold thier end of the bargain and would not rent the room for the dates promised.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    57
    44
    20
    42
See reviews for
91
35
28
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hokes Bluff
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2005

I have stayed at this hotel twice this year. The first time I stayed out of choice. The second time because inexpensive rooms in Hattiesburg have become impossible to find and I'd rather pay a few bucks more and stay here than at a budget motel.

The rooms are well laid out, maybe a bit smallish but still OK. My only beef is that both times, in different rooms, the air conditioning would vent straight up the window curtain.

Would I stay here again? Maybe, but I'd shop around for the best price.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cssamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 27, 2004

This is possibly the worst maintained hotel I have ever stayed at and it's relatively new.
The place is filthy, dusty and in need of maintenance (the ceiling in the bathroom was caving in). Old food was all over the room as I don't believe it had been vacuumed in months.
Housekeeping - you had the track down the woman to get towels (2 pm). I didn't even try to get the bed made
On the positive side, I found the staff polite and and as helpful as they could be.
My recommendation would be to find another place to stay in Hattiesburg.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hattiesburg hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 29, 2004

Spent several days at Hawthorn Suites just off Hwy 49 in Hattiesburg. While this hotel is fairly new, the rooms (we had 2) were dusty & filthy! Old food was on the floor around the beds, etc; the bathtubs were nasty, & both suites looked like they hadn’t been cleaned in a year! The rooms were not laid out as well as other all-suites hotels, & it’s a stretch to call them suites although each had a small refrigerator, small sink, & microwave. The public areas seemed ok. There was an outdoor pool as well as an indoor pool & exercise room. Most of the staff was nice but, on several occasions, one lady was extremely rude & very difficult to deal with. This same employee also had her small children at work with her on several occasions. Many guests were business people, & the children of the employee were loud, noisy, & intruded into the situations where people were attempting to conduct business. Would not stay at HS again! Nearby seafood restaurant is quite good.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 6, 2003

7/07/2003My brothers and I stayed at your wonderful hotel this week June 30 - July 6, 2003) and had a great experience. The hotel is beautiful, clean and has great service. You have the nicest hotel in Hattiesburg. Keep up the good work. I will be back in the fall.Helen

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hattiesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Hattiesburg - I-59
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hattiesburg
Hilton Garden Inn Hattiesburg
#3 of 33 in Hattiesburg
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hattiesburg
Candlewood Suites Hattiesburg
#11 of 33 in Hattiesburg
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Premier University Inn
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Hattiesburg
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hattiesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
Address: 10 Gateway Dr, Hattiesburg, MS 39402-9623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites University-Hattiesburg, Mississippi is a full-service luxury hotel with 138 newly renovated guest rooms. Free wireless high-speed Internet access is available in all public areas, and in all guest rooms. This Hattiesburg hotel has approximately 2,500 sq. feet of event and meeting space and is available for corporate or social events. Bapa's Bistro restaurant & lounge is located inside the hotel and available for breakfast, dinner, & room service. Remember, Kids stay & eat free. Relax, it's a Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites. During your stay enjoy the indoor and outdoor swimming pool, on site fitness center, putting green, and tennis & basketball courts. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is located off of I-59 on US 49. The Hattiesburg-Laurel Regional Airport is 7 miles from the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, downtown Hattiesburg, Mississippi is only 4 miles. The hotel is convenient to the Lake Terrace Convention Center, Forrest General Hospital, Wesley Medical Center & Camp Shelby Military Base. Hattiesburg is home to the University of Southern Mississippi (USM), William Carey University and Pearl River Community College. While in town be sure to visit several area attractions including Turtle Creek Mall, the Hattiesburg Zoo and Gulf Coast Casinos. Several area golf courses are just a short drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hattiesburg Hotel Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing