We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Hattiesburg
1 review
“Rip off”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

On vacation with my in-laws. We stopped to see about a room for the night. We were told that we had to put down an extra $50 deposit if we paid cash for the room. The night clerk said that when we left they would check the room for any damages then if no damages we would get our deposit back - well now we know they are not going to check our room until we are checked out and gone. Plus that night clerk would be gone when we checked out. I am writing to holiday inn to complain about this!!'

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob P, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Kerri H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide input on your recent experience with us at the Holiday Inn Hattiesburg. We appreciate all guest feedback, positive and negative, as it is an intricate part of improving our operations.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience you encountered during your recent visit to Hattiesburg. The policy of collecting a deposit from cash paying guests was implemented by previous management, as a way to protect the hotel against incidental damages and also give the guest the privilege of charging room service and breakfast to their room. If not used the deposit would be returned to the guest at check-out.

At Holiday Inn Hattiesburg, we value guest satisfaction in the highest degree and have taken this opportunity to review and revise our policy regarding the cash deposit.

Thank you again for bringing this problem to our attention. We appreciate your input and hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    56
    41
    20
    41
See reviews for
89
32
26
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lauderdale, Mississippi
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here for a nearby local event and didn't want to make trip back. Bad decision.

First of th good things: Check-in was easy and young man at front was friendly and courtious. Room service from attached restaurant was pricey but good and prompt. Had a nice pool (Water was too cold for my comfort thou.) and exercise room equipment was in decent shape. Internet connection was good. Shower fixture had interesting ?massage? sprayers I really wanted to check out (More on this later.)

Bad things: Beds meant for chipmunks, not humans (Starting to be a trend I've noticed.) Suite would be called a standard room at most other hotels. Thermostat on wall was for decoration (Controls were actually on unit itself.) Only one set of towels when we first came into room. Bathroom only had a shower not a bathtub. (Not a big deal for me on a overnight stay but wife prefers on an extended stay.)

The 500 lb rabid gorilla in the same room as you kind of bad: While I was about to take a nice hot shower, I reached in and twisted the knob to turn it on and had it come off in my hand. Once I managed to get it back on, it kept falling off whenever you took a step. Later, my youngest daughter (8 year old) took her turn and had the shower door fall on her while she was in it. Afterwards, we looked and noticed where previous repairs were made to bathroom before in a half hearted attempt.

Room Tip: "I've been in Micro-tels with bigger rooms!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thunderguppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear thunderguppy,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to note your positive feedback on our friendly and courteous front office staff, room service, internet connection, pool and fitness facility. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. It is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. However, it sounds like we fell short of your expectations with regard to the conditions of your room. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and please be assured that this issue on room or bathroom maintenance will be addressed. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The property grounds, lobby, and hallways are very nice and up-to-date. The room I stayed in was very dated, needing new furniture, paint, and carpet. This was a much quieter stay than the hotel next door. I'd stay here again, but hopefully, the management will take it upon themselves to invest in a renovation soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nawlinsdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear nawlinsdiner,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and appreciate your compliments regarding our lobby and hallways nice and up to date. On the other hand, I am sorry for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep South
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We didn't realize it was not a HI Express ... thus no free breakfast. That was our fault, not HI's. Not a big deal, except when we were a group of six and on a budget. Still, the hotel was nice (lobby a bit gaudy) and the front desk, as mentioned by others, was efficient and friendly. We had very spotty WiFi reception. I left my third-floor room and went to the lobby with laptop, but it wasn't much better there. That was disappointing since we all really needed to do some work. Our rooms were all very nice and we didn't have any problems. We didn't try the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tupelodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob P, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Tupelodan,

I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review about your experience with us here at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites.

We are happy to hear that despite the Wi-Fi issues that you experienced that our rooms accommodated you and your group's needs sufficiently. I can assure you that we will use your feedback to implement positive changes within our property for, hopefully, your next visit and our future guests.

With that said, I would like to invite you to stay with us again, so that you can have the chance to try our breakfast at a very reasonable inclusive rate.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to provide us with a review and the team and I look forward to better accommodating you and your team on your next visit to Hattiesburg.

Many Thanks!
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moselle, Mississippi
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel about a year ago and didn't have a great experience. Everyone can have a bad day, so when I found myself needing to stay in Hattiesburg again, I thought we could give them another try. Well, needless to say, not much has gotten better. At check-in the front desk was very friendly and efficient, but that's about the only positive comment. When we got to the room one of the bedside lights wouldn't come on so I pulled the nightstand away from the wall to check the plug. Sure enough, it was unplugged. How do you clean a room with lights that don't work. It was obvious from the appearance of the back side of the nightstand that they can't clean one with the lights off. There was trash all over the floor behind the nightstand. I didn't bother to check the other in fear of finding the same. I went into the bathroom and found the shower curtain rod dangling from the tip of one screw. On the way out the next morning I let the front desk know about the shower. When we returned in the evening we found that maintenance had been in the room and repair the shower rod and patched the holes - no paint but I'm sure they needed to let the repair dry first - not a big deal. Later that evening when I stepped into the tub to take a shower, my feet immediately came in contact with all the drywall dust and grit and grime from them making the repair. Really??? They couldn't even clean up their mess??? Also, when we arrived on Friday evening we really didn't want to go out of the hotel for dinner so we chose to eat at the hotel's restaurant. The service that we got there should have been an indication of what was to come. The food was pretty good, so kudos to the kitchen staff, but I guess the one and only server was too busy on his cell phone and flirting with a group of girls to pay attention to what he should have been. We were virtually ignored for about the first 10 minutes we were there, and we were only 1 of 3 tables occupied. Once he finally took our order, he never came back to our table. Someone from the kitchen came out and asked us what we had ordered and then she immediately went back into the kitchen, got our food and delivered it to us. Apparently she had seen it sitting and sitting and sitting under the warmer and decided she needed to try to come to the rescue. It took us almost an hour from start to finish for just 2 hamburgers. During all this, the "server" never came to see if we needed anything other than to bring us our check. Also, during this time he started bussing table, but never completely finished cleaning one. What a disaster. I may be overly critical, but, I'm in the hospitality business and this type of service and behavior would never make it with me. I think the management of this place needs to start managing and some heads need to role. I gave them a 2nd chance, but, I won't be giving them a 3rd.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob55197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob P, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Bob55197,
First and foremost, Mr. Bob let me preface by stating that my team and I would like to sincerely apologize to you and your family for our inability to provide you with a relaxing and memorable stay, not once but twice.
I am at a loss for words as to where to begin and how to go about addressing the horrific sequence of events that you experienced during your stay. There is absolutely no excuse for the inhospitable events and services that you had to endure throughout your stay here with us. I can assure you that this is not an automated response and that as the General Manager of this property I am currently in absolute distraught as well as disappointment in both myself, my team, and in the fact that you were humble and considerate enough to give us not one but two chances and we were unable to meet not only general operating expectations but your personal guest expectations; for that once again, I apologize.
These inconveniences are of great priority and they do not go unnoticed, nor will they due to the recent changes that have been presented upon this property. I would like to inform you that as of September 2013 the Holiday Inn and Suites has been undergoing a rigorous transformation process under new management and leadership in order to avoid such incidents and in turn stabilize a mentality of providing exceptional guest service in every department present on site. By no means will this carelessness continue to take precedence in our property’s operation. That is a promise I would like to make to you and your family and again I apologize that it affected you directly during your most recent stay.
Believe me when I say that your satisfaction is of great importance and that we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure that we offer an exceptional experience for you and our guests in the future.
With that said, if you could please contact our hotel, ask to speak with me, and grant me the privilege of addressing this further and making things right; I would be forever grateful.
Sincerely,
From a Fellow Hospitality Comrade
Bob Patel
General Manager
Holiday Inn and Suites Hattiesburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hattiesburg hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I thought this Holiday Inn in the middle of Mississippi would be run down and dumpy, but to my surprise it seems to have gotten a really modern makeover, as it feels pretty swanky and up to date. My room was comfy and the decor was bright and cheery. No great views to speak of, but I was surprised how bright they made the room feel. The bathroom was a bit small, but I didn't mind. Front desk was super friendly, and this made a great stop on my drive to Louisiana.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlaformab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob P, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Jlaformab,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.
We are ecstatic and honored to know that your stay with us was a wonderful one. Our team takes pride in ensuring that the guest checks in to a well ordered room and one that feels as comfortable as possible during their entire stay.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future and we hope to make your next experience even greater.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed one night on our way home from vacation. Our room had a King size bed with small sleeper sofa, and kitchenette area. Bathroom was small. Overall the room was okay but needs some deep cleaning and maintenance. It just felt very worn. Bed was comfortable and tv was good. They had a nice saltwater indoor pool that my 2 year old and husband enjoyed. We did try to call the front desk for more towels after swimming but couldn't get an answer so we just made do with what we had in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lgoodman03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Lgoodman03,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hattiesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Premier University Inn
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hattiesburg
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Hattiesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hattiesburg
Hilton Garden Inn Hattiesburg
#3 of 33 in Hattiesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Hattiesburg - I-59
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hattiesburg
Candlewood Suites Hattiesburg
#13 of 33 in Hattiesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
Address: 10 Gateway Dr, Hattiesburg, MS 39402-9623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites University-Hattiesburg, Mississippi is a full-service luxury hotel with 138 newly renovated guest rooms. Free wireless high-speed Internet access is available in all public areas, and in all guest rooms. This Hattiesburg hotel has approximately 2,500 sq. feet of event and meeting space and is available for corporate or social events. Bapa's Bistro restaurant & lounge is located inside the hotel and available for breakfast, dinner, & room service. Remember, Kids stay & eat free. Relax, it's a Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites. During your stay enjoy the indoor and outdoor swimming pool, on site fitness center, putting green, and tennis & basketball courts. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is located off of I-59 on US 49. The Hattiesburg-Laurel Regional Airport is 7 miles from the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, downtown Hattiesburg, Mississippi is only 4 miles. The hotel is convenient to the Lake Terrace Convention Center, Forrest General Hospital, Wesley Medical Center & Camp Shelby Military Base. Hattiesburg is home to the University of Southern Mississippi (USM), William Carey University and Pearl River Community College. While in town be sure to visit several area attractions including Turtle Creek Mall, the Hattiesburg Zoo and Gulf Coast Casinos. Several area golf courses are just a short drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hattiesburg Hotel Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing