We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but sweet”
Review of Hattiesburg Zoo

Hattiesburg Zoo
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Hattiesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hattiesburg, MS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small but sweet”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We go there often. The park is right outside the gates. We like to take the children and let them run for a bit. It's a small zoo, but on hot days, that's a good thing. They have remodeled a great deal of the zoo, and there are shaded areas.

Helpful?
1 Thank TesaLMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    57
    18
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pearl, Mississippi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Something to do ?”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

It was great when I was little. I think everything is a little more magical when you are little. Now it seems like it's tiny and the bugs are really annoying. I don't seem to get irritated by gnats and biting things near as much at Jackson Zoo or Audubon. I guess it's good considering it's Hattiesburg.

Helpful?
1 Thank reneeisorym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
476 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Gr8 for kids”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I took my 3 yr old granddaughter to see the animals and ride the train and carousal. A fun day for a few $$

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This zoo is small but very clean and professionally maintained. The animals are exhibited well, and the admission fee is quite low. Definitely worth seeing!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank StarZombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central VA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Sweet Little Zoo”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This zoo is not big, and does not have a huge variety of animals.
Therefore it is PERFECT for a family with a preschooler in tow. No huge crowds, not a lot of walking, and the price is very reasonable.
$5 admissiion for each adult.
$3 for our son
$5 to rent a wagon
$2 each for the carousel and $2 each for the train.
We visited for under $30, which isn't bad for a morning outing.
The zoo is super clean and well kept. It is very shady and easy to access the animals. The habitats are rather large and spacious.
It features a splash pad with a shaded seating area for parents. I didn't know they had a splash pad, or I would have been prepared with my son's swimmies and a towel, but instead we let him have fun in his regular clothing.
He really enjoyed his trip there and it was the perfect size for us!
I would definitely return.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank StefCentralVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hattiesburg Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Hattiesburg Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing