We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Buffet Place”

Movie Star Restaurant & Catering
Ranked #21 of 255 Restaurants in Hattiesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
359 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Country Buffet Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Looking for a blast of country comfort food served buffet style? Then you are there. Expect lots of people. Lots of options. Seemed to have a bit too much salt for my taste. I'd go back again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaded-Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    21
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful buffet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Many choices for meat, vegs, desserts. Good atmosphere and price. The time for being served was reasonable. The resturant is locally owned, and the owner is ofter present.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best home-style cooking around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This restaurant is VERY underrated at number 14 of 63 in Hattiesburg. I would put it in the top 3 or 4. Yes, it is not a "cheap" buffet, but it is actually a good deal cheaper than the casino buffets about 75 miles to the south, and all the casinos should send people to Movie Star to learn what a great buffet really is [The Palace's buffet would come the closest to Movie Star's quality and homemade desserts]. Fantastic brisket, fried chicken, mashed potatoes and many others. Possibly the best banana pudding I've ever had anywhere, and that isn't usually one of my favorite desserts.

I disagree with the reviewers who claim the vegetables "came out of the can." I think their veggies are great. But, this IS southern home-style cooking and it is not in a "white tablecloth" setting, so if you want fancy and frills, go somewhere else. This is the only buffet I have had that is worth the price.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenEagle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food but a little expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We have been fans of Movie Star since they were in Purvis. In fact we miss them being in Purvis. The best is the fried chicken and the brisket. We can't eat there a lot because it is a little expensive. But we definitely go on special occasions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamalvs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
1 review
“hmmmmm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was afraid when they moved to Hattiesburg, that they would loose some of their charm and "flavor"!! It was a great atmosphere and the best fried chicken (with the exception of my mom's)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loleatha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Movie Star Restaurant & Catering also viewed

 

Been to Movie Star Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing