We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The grossest hotel ever. Yuk!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Western Motel

Western Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Western Motel
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The grossest hotel ever. Yuk!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Most of the hotels in Hattiesburg were full so I ended up at the Western Hotel. It should be re-named to the "King Roach". Not only was my room filthy there were two roaches in the bathtub. Did I mention the tub was never cleaned and there were hairs everywhere? My bedding had holes in the sheets and the red carpet looked brown. Clearly it had never been cleaned so I never took off my shoes. Portions of the sheetrock were water damaged and mold was everywhere. The bed was beyond terrible with a cheap cover placed over an old bed. You may as well sleep in your car. This place is the worst of the worst. Ewwwwww.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    3
    0
    10
See reviews for
7
Couples
0
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I'm am not a picky person but this was terrible. We needed two adjoining rooms and we didn't arrive until 11:30 pm ( after driving over nine hours with four teenagers ) or we would have went somewhere else. One room seemed ok but the adjoining room had a shop vac I'm the floor and the carpet was wet. The tub and sink both had used soap in them. One towel only and one bed had black hair in it. I could not sleep because it felt dirty. I pulled off the comforter and covered up with a sheet I had with me.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rapidairplanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hattiesburg hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The man was very nice when I called to check availability. It was very late and most hotels were booked. When we walked into the room we put our daughter in bed. When I walked to the sink there were 5 large roaches on the countertop. When my husband picked my daughter up, another one fell out of the bed! I would rather sleep in my car!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ennisad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Western Motel is an older motel offering connecting rooms, with very reasonable rates for Hattiesburg, where hotels / motels are overpriced for what you get. The rooms are furnished "old-style", and they look old, but they are clean, reasonably comfortable and quiet. Free wifi and a fridge in each room. Convenient to USM and Hardy Street.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamish2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I am a connoisseur of cheap motels, though I have enjoyed my share of higher-end resorts and hotels as well. I gave this place 4 stars within the genre of cheap roadside motels -- stacked up directly against any Hilton it would be blown away. But for the money, given the other prices in the area, the Western is all right.

First I hit the Super 8 figuring on a nice easy $45 deal like I usually find in little southern towns. Wrong. They wanted over $70 for the night so I kept driving. This proved to be a pretty typical price. Then I tried the Western out of desperation. I paid $49, including all taxes. This place is actually very clean and well-maintained. Ok, there is an electrical outlet hanging out of the wall with wires everywhere and looking like a major fire code violation. But the place is actually very comfortable and much less sterile and prison-like than the big chain cheap-o motels tend to be (I'm looking at you, Motel 6!)

The neighborhood was hard to get a sense of in the dark. It feels pretty safe. There are convenience stores a few blocks away. The free wifi is pretty fast. I'm happy and I'll likely stay here again if I find myself passing through Hattiesburg again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steamrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

This independent inn is very nice. location is great, plenty of good food around, and quite. The staff was very friendly and made us feel very comfortable and welcome. Will definatly stay again. Pricing was wonderful for the area.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marrissa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We had passed this independent-style motel many times on Hardy Street on our many trips to Hattiesburg since it was very close to the university. We wondered about it, but continued to stay in a "brand name" hotel or motel for years There were no TripAdvisor reviews, and no website to give more information on the motel.

Finally, the kids got big enough that cramming everyone into one room became a chore. Called the Western Motel and found that they did offer connecting rooms, with very reasonable rates that put two rooms within our price ceiling. The rooms are furnished "old-style", but were clean, comfortable and quiet and had the plusses of free wifi and a fridge in each room, along with a internal connecting door. Access to all the businesses of Hardy Street is easy. Pizza coupons in the lobby were handy. Definitely would stay here again if we travel to Hattiesburg and need two rooms.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamish2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hattiesburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Hattiesburg MS
Days Inn Hattiesburg MS
#5 of 38 in Hattiesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Hattiesburg - I-59
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Dru's Inn
Dru's Inn
#21 of 38 in Hattiesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
4.4 mi away
Super 8 Hattiesburg South
Super 8 Hattiesburg South
#10 of 38 in Hattiesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#22 of 38 in Hattiesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Motel

Property: Western Motel
Address: 3501 Hardy St, Hattiesburg, MS 39402-1534
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Western Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing