We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for Southern BBQ? It's here.”

Leatha's Bar-B-Que Inn
Ranked #5 of 258 Restaurants in Hattiesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
360 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Looking for Southern BBQ? It's here.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

WOW. You'll wonder by the looks of the place if you've made a mistake. Nope. Not a fancy building BUT you'll find some of the nicest "sweet" BBQ on this planet.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaded-Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    70
    29
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

It was yummy!

It is the typical rustic barbecue place, totally family run, by people that know barbecue!

My wife’s favorite Bar-B-Que is the Germantown Commissary, Germantown, TN. She says that Leatha's Bar-B-Que is almost as good. From her that is quite a compliment.

We both had the pork ribs and they were very tender and falling off the bone. Cold drinks and tea prices are very reasonable too.

I watched the waitress, most likely one of Leatha’s daughters, take the orders from a table of eight, then a table of six, then our table of two, followed by a table of three one behind the other. Then she went to the kitchen and placed the orders. She never wrote anything down, repeated every order rapidly to confirm the order at each table and from what I could tell got them all correct. She says she does that up to about fifty people at a time.

I also had a slice of the homemade pecan pie and it too was good. I asked and the waitress said her sister makes the pie.

Bottom line, stop and give it a try. We will be back whenever we are in the area!

Note: There is a sign for Leath’s on the highway, but you cannot really see the building. (It is located directly behind another building.)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_McG_Slidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
134 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“WOW! Excellent BBQ in Hattiesburg!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Leatha's in Hattiesburg.... Incredible ribs!!! I had the beans and cole slaw (both were fantastic). I now have the fortune to do business for the next several months in Hattiesburg - I will be dining here! The staff was friendly, comfortable environment and just some of the best BBQ that has made it across these lips!

If you are in or near Hattiesburg, STOP HERE!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmerhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
156 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth Making a Stop ...”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Leatha's is a classic southern bar-b-que restaurant and well worth a stop if you are staying or passing through Hattiesburg. This local restaurant has been family run for years with at least four generations being involved in offering excellent bar-b-que to their customers. They welcome you like family and take pride in the food they serve. As we have stopped here over the last few years, all the menu items we have tried have been great. I especially like the "fall-off-the-bone" ribs. Our recent return visit certainly did not leave us disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeTraveler420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumrall, Mississippi
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“old fashioned goodness”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

this is how bbq was 50 yrs ago in the south. great friendly folks good food we had friends from abroad to visit and they were very impressed with the cultural insights

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank george4209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leatha's Bar-B-Que Inn also viewed

 

Been to Leatha's Bar-B-Que Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing