We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Excellent BBQ in Hattiesburg!”

Leatha's Bar-B-Que Inn
Ranked #5 of 258 Restaurants in Hattiesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Atlanta
Level Contributor
134 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“WOW! Excellent BBQ in Hattiesburg!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Leatha's in Hattiesburg.... Incredible ribs!!! I had the beans and cole slaw (both were fantastic). I now have the fortune to do business for the next several months in Hattiesburg - I will be dining here! The staff was friendly, comfortable environment and just some of the best BBQ that has made it across these lips!

If you are in or near Hattiesburg, STOP HERE!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmerhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    70
    30
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
156 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth Making a Stop ...”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Leatha's is a classic southern bar-b-que restaurant and well worth a stop if you are staying or passing through Hattiesburg. This local restaurant has been family run for years with at least four generations being involved in offering excellent bar-b-que to their customers. They welcome you like family and take pride in the food they serve. As we have stopped here over the last few years, all the menu items we have tried have been great. I especially like the "fall-off-the-bone" ribs. Our recent return visit certainly did not leave us disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeTraveler420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumrall, Mississippi
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“old fashioned goodness”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

this is how bbq was 50 yrs ago in the south. great friendly folks good food we had friends from abroad to visit and they were very impressed with the cultural insights

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank george4209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Real Deal BBQ”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great ribs, warm bbq sauce, and pulled pork sandwich. Baked beans and potatoes were excellent. The cole slaw and potato salad was just okay, but the meat and sauce are what counts at any bbq place. Staff was real friendly. It's appearance is that of a dressed up shack on highway 98. Great quality and size for the price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE!!!!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I recently spent time at Camp Shelby for the military, and had one of the locals recommend this restaurant. All I can say is WOW!! Quite possibly the best BBQ I have ever had, and being in the military I have been to a lot of places across the country. Have to get the pulled pork, whether you like beef or pork ribs, both are fantastic. (Ate their multiple times, had both). If someone says their is better BBQ in Hattiesburg, they must work for one of the other places, as I tried other BBQ joints while I was there. They were good, but not close to Leatha's.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leatha's Bar-B-Que Inn also viewed

 

Been to Leatha's Bar-B-Que Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing