We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most upscale atmosphere in town”
Review of Purple Parrot

Purple Parrot
Reserve with OpenTable
Purple Parrot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 262 Restaurants in Hattiesburg
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 38th Avenue
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most upscale atmosphere in town”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Liked the level of service
Pricing is on the higher side but you are paying for the atmosphere. The amount of food is just right.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank whisper39402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    16
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg,
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best food in Hattiesburg!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Elegance and fine cuisine meet perfectly at this restaurant. Everything is top-notch, including the service. The restaurant is very open, so not as much privacy; it's a bit pricey, but hands down this is my favorite Hattiesburg restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sg2011523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hometown Favorite”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

After a trip to San Francisco, where my husband and I had made reservations in six of the best reviewed restaurants, we were having dinner in the bar of the Purple Parrot, here in Hattiesburg and both of us looked at each other and said, "This is the best meal we have had in the last two weeks." Fresh seafood and a menu that features local produce..they have their own garden..impeccable service and Terry's bartending skills make this our favorite haunt for fine dining.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle43810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“White tablecloth dining”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is Robert St John's formal restaurant: white tableclothes, full table service, and a more "pricey" menu ~ however, some of the favorites from Crescent City Grill (his restaurant next door) also are available. Good place to go for a special event or celebration. Chef is willing to accommodate off-menu items to some extent, and one of few places that can make a well-done steak without turning it into a hockey puck!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GlassInMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding in Hattiesburg, MS”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

In the area for a state tennis tournament, we wound up at the Purple Parrot by accident. WOW, were we surprised and pleased. One of the most delicious dinners in quite a while; everyone in our group rated it "Great!" I found later that our experience was par for the course. If you are looking for an upscale restaurant that is not just hype but great food, ambiance and service, try the Purple Parrot.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Parrot also viewed

 
Hattiesburg, MS
 

Been to Purple Parrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing