We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and less than mediocre for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Hattiesburg
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel website hypes evening socials, which, of course, are a rare event. Especially on the nights we were there. Although the Residence Inn claims to be *pet-friendly*, there was a $100.00 pet fee, which we could not find on the hotel website when we booked the room. SURPRISE, but not pleasantly. The room was nothing special, the desk chair was broken, ice is unavailable unless you make it yourself, and if I had to rate the front desk clerk who checked us in on a scale of 1 to 10, I'd give her a 2. If you must stay in Hattiesburg, find somewhere better for less.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, General Manager at Residence Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Mr. H,
I am sorry that your stay at our hotel started out less that satisfactory. We do charge a $100 non-refundable pet fee and it is stated on the fact sheet on our hotel website. Obviously, you did not see it and as a result, I am sure the fee was unexpected. Unfortunately, we have to charge a non-refundable deposit to keep the rooms to our high standards once a pet departs. This fee covers pest control and additional cleaning, which is done each and every time a pet has stayed in a room.

Our evening socials are every Tuesday and Wednesday and every other Thursday. I do apologize that there are no evening socials for you to enjoy since you were traveling over the weekend.

Since our rooms are all suites with full size refrigerators, each is equipped with an icemaker for your convenience. All guests are welcome to get additional ice from our ice machine located in the kitchen. Any of our guest services representatives would have been happy to get that for you.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations for service during your stay. I certainly hope the information I have provided will be helpful and you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 128 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

Several members of our family attended an event in Hattiesburg and decided to stay at the Residence Inn after reading reviews in Trip Advisor. We expected a nice motel, but it was even nicer than expected. We had a spacious two-bedroom suite that was just right for five adults. There is an afternoon "social" many days during the week with free wine, beer and light food. The breakfast choices were extensive and excellent. With all the free food, the price of the motel dropped to a very modest rate. Within walking distance of the motel are a thearter complex and some restaurants. Rooms were well decorated, clean and attractive. Linens were excellent. The management is very friendly and good at suggesting restaurants, All the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful,

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, General Manager at Residence Inn Hattiesburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Loucie,

Thank you for the rave reviews! Our staff works hard to provide excellent service and I appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Okay, I'll be honest. I booked this room (2 actually) with my credit card points, but even with that, the rate was one of the lowest in the area. The check-in staff were extremely nice and went beyond what I expected to even look up my Marriott Rewards number.

The rooms were much larger than other hotels for the same price and had tons of amenities. Small kitchen, normal sized refrigerator, microwave, dish washer (including Cascade powder), nice flat-screen TV.

We stayed here on our way to Florida and it was a GREAT way to break up the drive. I've stayed in many hotels and this was one of the very best.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSkyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Room was excellent, and tastefully modern. The hotel appears to be either newly constructed or recently refurbished. Layout was like a large studio apartment, with a kitchenete, medium size flat screen tv. The hotel is convenient to highway and there was some slight highway noise, so if you are a very light sleeper, request a room away from highway. Breakfast was very good. Great family restaurant next door, Mug Shots.

Room Tip: Highway noise might be a slight issue for light sleepers, request a room away from highway on south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

The place was like an apartment. My room had one king bed and in the kitchen was a stainless refrigerator, microwave, and a dishwasher! They even had a box of cascade! Nice couch and flat screen tv with a lazy Susan that spun around from living room to bedroom. The pool and hot tub was nice, too! Location was close to Mug Shots and USM.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeKay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very comfortable and clean. Has everything one would need for an extended stay. We only stayed for one night but should we go back to the area we will stay here again.
Near to restaurants and interstate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squirrelcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We came from Australia to sample some cycling on rail trails. This Hotel was closely situated to Long Leaf Trace rail trail. We found the room very spacious and comfortable. Although air conditioning was noisy so we switched it off for the night. Staff was friendly and helpful. We obtained all the necessary info about the Trail from a young staff member who new the Trail very well. The breakfast was sumptuous and varied, coffee was strong and ambiance very inviting. The three nights stay was satisfying. The only drawback was to find the front entrance to the check in counter as the front door with the 116 address was locked, and we noticed that also many new guests were confused when parking the car and carrying the suitcases. But we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hattiesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Hattiesburg - I-59
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hattiesburg
Hilton Garden Inn Hattiesburg
#3 of 34 in Hattiesburg
459 reviews
2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hattiesburg
Candlewood Suites Hattiesburg
#11 of 34 in Hattiesburg
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Hattiesburg
0 mi away
Courtyard Hattiesburg
Courtyard Hattiesburg
#15 of 34 in Hattiesburg
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Hattiesburg
TownePlace Suites Hattiesburg
#7 of 34 in Hattiesburg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Hattiesburg

Address: 116 Grand Dr, Hattiesburg, MS 39401-6603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range: $116 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Hattiesburg 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite Hattiesburg, MS hotel is near the University of Southern Mississippi, as well as Camp Shelby, Forrest General Hospital, and Longleaf Trace. Canebrake Country Club, Timberton Golf Club, and Hattiesburg Country Club offer excellent golfing. Gulfport beaches and Biloxi casinos are an easy drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Hattiesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Hattiesburg Hotel Hattiesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing