We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT A GREAT EXPERIENCE.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gulfport
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“NOT A GREAT EXPERIENCE.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

Here are the high points:
A gang, and I do mean gang, of young men were hanging outside at the front door when we pulled up. They were not the friendliest, and eyed us as we emptied our car. I worried that they were looking at where we parked it. It was scary. Our room was so humid there was a dehumidifier in the room, but it was broken. The carpet was damp and the room smelled. It was so late, and we were so tired from driving that we just dropped asleep, but the odor in the room was really unpleasant. The television had virtually no signal, and looked like it was vintage 1985. This is not a great property, Marriott can do better than this. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rina4720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    45
    15
    6
    10
See reviews for
38
27
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
BATON ROUGE LOUISIANA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights over the memorial weekend with our softball team and all 23 rooms we reserved were musty smelling and very damp all rooms have a dehumidifier but didnt help the smell and they have the hardest beds I have ever slept on felt like a stack of cardboard with sheets on it.on another note one of the parents got there on saturday and they had given her room away ? the airplanes fly right over you can see the runway just behind the hotel. over all I give this place a 2 out of 5 and the two comes from the staff they were great and the breakfast was Ok.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjnkriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

I had an extended business stay at the Fairfield Inn. It felt like staying with family. As long as you don't expect too much, it's perfect - not too far from the Gulf and even has an indoor saltwater pool. It can get a bit noisy on the weekends. The staff is very friendly and helpful, typical of the Mississippi Gulf Coast. Continental breakfast is basic but reliable. There are many restaurants close by. Biggest drawback that I saw was the hotel is directly under the final approach flight path for the airport, on short final for the usual duty runway. In fact the flight crews stay at this hotel. All in all, a good value and I'd recommend the Fairfield Inn in Gulfport to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikespop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

My husband, adult son and I were traveling from Atlanta to Houston via car to spend the holidays in Houston. We stopped at the Fairfield Inn to split our drive into two days. It's located not far off the interstate and there are many restaurants in the immediate area, a couple of which can be walked to from the hotel. It turned out to be a very congested area, but that might have been because we arrived around rush hour (yes, there's a rush hour in Gulfport!) :) The hotel was excellent for a mid-price hotel. We had a suite since there were three of us, and it was equipped with a microwave and fridge, which came in handy as we were traveling with food we kept cold overnight. The complimentary breakfast buffet had a nice selection of the usual cereals, baked goods, juice, tea/coffee, fruit, etc., with a pleasant staff. I'm a stickler for cleanliness, and our room was immaculate. We will definitely stop here on our next road trip!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjhc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2009

You can get this hotel for a lot cheaper than the published rates via Priceline. I thought it was very clean, the service was exceptional, had a small gym that was very well maintained, and an indoor pool. Everyone I thought went out of their way to make you happy...early check ins, late check outs, not a glitch anywhere that I could see. Place was very well maintained. It is within walking distance to proably 20 restaurants (try Tres Amigos...great sit down Mexican) and adjacent to a Wal-Mart. The only draw back is that it is directly on the flight approach to the airport. The airport doesn't get much action so not a real problem, but one or twice a day a sorti of fighter jets from Keesler will fly over....which I thought was kinda exciting. At night you hear nothing from the airport. I'd stay here again in a second. Great deal.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chplhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2007

This was a very brief stay -- just overnight with a very early departure -- so I am only able to write a brief review.

The property is located off the highway behind some fast food outlets. It is a little difficult to find, especially after dark. The property is very clean and quiet, but seems a little isolated. As traffic can be heavy on the highway, and there is no traffic light for the exit road, access in and out can be difficult.

The staff are simply outstanding. I was greeted with smiles and friendly conversation. Desk staff clearly stated their names, their schedule and how to reach them should I require anything. Many more expensive hotels should strive to do so well.

The room was fairly basic. The bed was comfortable, as was the desk chair, and the internet connection was quick and reliable. Everything was clean and well maintained, except for the bath area. The tub/shower had mildew in several patches and the shower curtain rod was very loose. Neither was a substantial issue, but seemed very out of character with the good condition of the rest of the room and hotel.

Overall, I was pleased with my stay and would recommend the Fairfield for others looking for affordable lodging.

  • Liked — Comfortable Bed
  • Disliked — Isolation and access to highway
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
196 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

I needed to stay one night near the Gulfport airport, and I needed a night at a Marriott brand to qualify for a promotion they were having, so I selected the Fairfield Inn over all the other options. The hotel is located in an extremely busy, trafficy area (and I thought New York had crazy drivers) but was really convenient to the airport.

The room was fine. It was small and there was not much floorspace that did not have furniture on it. The bed was comfortable and the room itself was clean. The bathroom was nice but the water never really got hot enough for my tastes. There were very basic amenities: shampoo, conditioner, soap. That's it and that was fine for one night.

I had a hard time finding the place, as Turkey Creek Rd. did not show up on my GPS and is not well marked. I drove past the turnoff a couple of times and the person I talked to when I called for directions was not particularly helpful.

Check-in staff were friendly. Breakfast was typical of the complementary breakfasts offered. Parking was ample.

  • Liked — You can walk to grocery store and restaurants
  • Disliked — There was nothing special to it
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenwayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulfport hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gulfport
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#9 of 28 in Gulfport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Seaway Inn
BEST WESTERN Seaway Inn
#10 of 28 in Gulfport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gulfport
Comfort Suites Gulfport
#12 of 28 in Gulfport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gulfport Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Gulfport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Gulfport

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Gulfport
Address: 15151 Turkey Creek Drive, Gulfport, MS 39503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Gulfport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Marriott, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Gulfport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gulfport Hotel Gulfport
Fairfield Inn And Suites Gulfport
Fairfield Inn Gulfport
Fairfield Gulfport
Gulfport Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing